We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful option in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #55 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful option in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Close to the museums, in a lovely neighborhood, the Aalders offers pleasant and reasonably spacious rooms at an excellent price. They also offer wonderful service: I left my cell phone in the room when I checked out. When I called the next day, they had found it, and several members of staff worked together to help me arrange for it to be picked up by Fedex and sent on to me in another country. It arrived, carefully wrapped the next day. I'll be sure to stay here again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    599
    98
    19
    19
See reviews for
367
419
151
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My family and i stayed for 5 days on Last April 2011. Small rooms,Its a 2 star hotel.
Only good thing...location
Dont go...rooms old, like Dracula rooms.We took the family one..2 double beds.. Very very small, no airconditioner, No ventilation or window on bath room, so we smell eveything.
Its a Shop and go hotel

Room Tip: Stay away...dont stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I and 6 other friends stayed at Hotel Aalders for three nights in September at the start of our European holiday.
I had stayed in Amsterdam previously and was attracted to the location as it so close to everything you would want to see/do in Amsterdam. You may need to jump on a tram for some places but tram stops are nearby.
The staff at Hotel Aalders were very friendly and helpful. I had some special needs for our stay and these were very helpfully looked after for us.
The hotel is comfortable and the rooms are clean and functional. Beds were ok. Breakfast was also good in the European style. The hotel is not an upmarket place but if you are looking for value for money, friendly staff, convenient location and a nice neighbourhood then I believe Hotel Aalders provides that.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a relatively quiet street but there is some traffic. If that concerns you ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atsugi, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

this hotel is located in a quiet housing area and shopping street. very close to the museums, fondel park, leidse plein, it doesnt matter if it takes 30min walk to the central station but around this place,just perfect. and the room was clean, staffs are gentle and kind. free internet connection, but smoking free inside of the hotel. just a llittle expencive for my cheap demand holidays but i really like this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights in November with a friend who has a toddler. We got a triple room after deciding the double room w/ a cot would be too small. I'm so glad we did. The room was one of the biggest I've ever seen in Europe, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was satisfying - the usual mix of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals and fruit. But they also had made-to-order coffee. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations on restaurants and things to do.
The location is just perfect. It's only one street over from the Van Gogh museum, and there are tons of other museums all around. The Blue Boat canal tour dock is about 5 min on foot, and the hotel sells discounted tickets. We walked everywhere without a problem. It's outside the party district, so it's a very quiet neighborhood.
One thing the hotel's Web site doesn't tell you is that the Conexxion hotel shuttle from Schipol airport stops at the hotel. Return tickets cost about 25 Euro. Much cheaper than a taxi.
If we ever return to Amsterdam, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Requset a room facing the courtyard- very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iMtrippinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Aalders for 3 nights in June, and we had a very pleasant stay. The staff was extremely helpful and helped make our stay in Amsterdam even more enjoyable. I thought the location of the hotel was perfect: It was a short walking distance to most attractions and restaurants but far enough away to get some peace and quiet at night. It is very close to the Van Gogh Museum.

Our room seemed pretty big for European standards, but our bathroom was very small. The free breakfast was great.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiamaria529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Rooms and facilities are past their 'use by' dates. However this hotel is still worth considering due to its helpful, friendly staff and unbeatable location adjacent to the Rijksmuseum, ConcertGebouw and van Gogh Museum. Trams 2 & 5 bring you to near the hotel from the Central Train Station.

Room Tip: There are a couple of recently renovated rooms. Ask for one. If unavailable, consider staying elsewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,011 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing