We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #54 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was my fourth visit to Amsterdam over the past 10 years. The hotel I stayed at previously, near Rembrandt Square, was booked when I went searching and I found the Aalders online and decided to give it a try. My purpose for going to Amsterdam at this time was to attend a special series of concerts at the Concertgebouw. Hotel Aalders is ideally located near the main art museums and the concert hall. Friendly, helpful staff. It will be my first choice on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Dr. W

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    599
    98
    19
    19
See reviews for
366
419
151
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great hotel, ideal central location. Staff friendly and very helpful, would recommend this as a perfect place to stay. Located in quiet street near the museums, just a short walk from the centre. We visited when President Obama was in town and the staff told us of road and museum closures that might affect our stay. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We would definitely recommend this hotel! Room 20 is spacious with a really good size bathroom and has patio doors opening out onto pretty private garden. Staff are particularly helpful and friendly. Having a good continental breakfast included is a bonus.Bus 197 from Schipol takes about 30 mins, costs €5 and then only a 2 min walk to the hotel. Museums very quiet if you go for opening time and only a 2 min walk.

Room Tip: Room 20,ground floor,spacious with access to private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a very pleasant weekend at Hotel Aalders. Excellent location on a quiet street, yet very near to major attractions (Museumplein and Vondelpark). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. The hotel is very clean and cosy. Our room was great, with a nice view to the rear garden. Good, new bicycles are available to guests for rent at a reasonable price. Prior to our check-out, we were offered a very early breakfast, which was very convenient because our taxi to the airport picked us up at 5:00 AM. I will definitely return to Hotel Aalders.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CattleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent location, I felt really safe walking around as a single female. Staff was very helpful especially Rowena ! Some of the brochures in the lobby were outdated so I was not able to get the advertised discount.
I had a double room which was perfect for one person. I think it would be a tight fit for 2 people, due to space for the luggage, and also the bathroom was tiny. Shower was a good size but the rest of the bathroom would be small for 2 people to share.
The free wi if is an excellent perk ! Breakfast was quite decent.
Very accurately described on its website and definitely good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very good place to stay for us-we had a 2 double bed family room for two grown-ups and two older children-large room, friendly, quiet and clean. Waterboiler for tea was helpful. Bathroom was small, but o.k. Museums are close , just a few minutes' walk, and also tram station was nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast which included also fresh fruits. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimori2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was my second stay here and it was great. Especially the room (the photos)! Look at my first review, everything is still accurate. The Rijksmuseum nearby (less than 5 minutes walk) has reopened its doors and there's a lot to see. A great hotel that I really recommend to everyone!

Second séjour dans cet hôtel et toujours aussi satisfaite. De la chambre en particulier (cf. photos)! Voir ma première critique qui est toujours d'actualité. Le Rijksmuseum, plus grand musée d'Amsterdam à moins de 5 minutes à pied, a rouvert ses portes et il y a plein de choses à voir. Un très bon hôtel avec un excellent rapport qualité-prix que je recommande à tous!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing