We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel in a convenient location”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #45 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I and our teenage daughter visited this family run hotel at beginning of April 2014. We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and clean with nice bed-linen. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with lovely shower/ bath and plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer. Prior to our visit we were sent clear instructions of how to get there from the airport. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from tram and bus stop. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good advice on places to visit and provided tickets. The hotel is old and has character and is situated in an attractive tree-lined street.. It was just as I had expected having viewed the location on google street-view. The location was excellent for us as we wanted to visit the museums as well as seeing the city centre and canal area. The free WIFI was appreciated. An excellent buffet breakfast was provided. I thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Aileen H.,

Thank you very much for the nice words about our hotel and staff.
For us, it's always a great compliment to read that guests will be returning to our hotel without hesitation!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Aalders Hotel in April 2014, for six nights. We booked a small double room through the site of the hotel, based on the photos there and the advises at TripAdvisor. When we arrived we were confused right at the entrance - not fitting with the descriptions we had. The hotel seemed old and not very comfortable. Right at the check-in they said we must pay in advance, and so we do. But when we saw the room we stayed very bothered. The room was incredebly small - some 8 square meters! - we had no space even to put two suitcases open, and surely no sufficent space of drawer to put our clothes. The toilet and bath facilities were also desperatly small. We complained and asked another room, they said it was impossible, bigger room were all took. After the first night we said that we were going to leave the hotel and search another. The manager said that any refund was impossible. I asked if the Aalders was a trap for foreigners, the manager replied that I was free to leave - but no money back. After some discussion the manager found a possível solution: 2 days in a bigger room, the next in a small one, the last two in a bigger, again. But with an overpayment of 80 euros. We accepted, because, really, we had no choice. Even so, the only thing good at Aalders is the location and the quiet street where it is. The classification of this hotel with 3 stars is erroneous, no more than 2 wil be just. The common spaces (corridors, stairs, lobby) are exiguous, we ear the noises from one room to another. Don't go to this hotel, the price may seem interesting, but it's awfully expensive considering what we get.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Jorge R,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
We regret to hear we did not meet the expectations you and your wife had about our accommodation.

Our Small Twin/Double Rooms are great for a lovely stay in Amsterdam, for a reasonable price.
When guests contact us about suggestions for longer stays, we always advice to book our Comfort Twin Room. As this room is more spacious (and comes with coffee and tea facilities).

We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great hotel in central location (museum area), with bus and trams stops nearby for easy access to the airport, central station and other areas in the City. Friendly and helpful staff - nothing is too much trouble, clean and tidy rooms, nice fresh bedding and functional bathrooms with hairdryer. Excellent buffet breakfast that covers all tastes. Would thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were five adults in 3 rooms. Although quite small, the rooms were all very good. They were light, scrupulously clean (as were the bathrooms) and the beds were very comfortable.There is free WiFi and a computer and printer available for doing on-line check-in and printing boarding passes for our return flight. The location is perfect: a few minutes walk from the museums and tram and bus stops, yet in a nice quiet street. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a generous breakfast. We had no complaints at all and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirthdayVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A family run hotel directly in the heart of Amsterdam. Friendly welcome, room was small but fine with a newly decorated bathroom. Breakfast and free WiFi was included in the price. Breakfast on the 1st floor dining area is a generous buffet with fresh fruits cereals, bread and some cooked choices of eggs, ham, cheese. A short journey on tram 2 & 5 take you directly to the train station and bus 197 reaches the airport for 5 euros. - For me this is the place I will return to on my next trip. I was on 2nd floor overlooking the quiet garden area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CulturalAttache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear CulturalAttache,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

The biggest compliment we can get, is to hear that you will be returning to our hotel when you'll be visiting Amsterdam. And for that, we are very thankful.

We wish you all the best and until we'll meet again!

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was my fourth visit to Amsterdam over the past 10 years. The hotel I stayed at previously, near Rembrandt Square, was booked when I went searching and I found the Aalders online and decided to give it a try. My purpose for going to Amsterdam at this time was to attend a special series of concerts at the Concertgebouw. Hotel Aalders is ideally located near the main art museums and the concert hall. Friendly, helpful staff. It will be my first choice on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Dr. W

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great hotel, ideal central location. Staff friendly and very helpful, would recommend this as a perfect place to stay. Located in quiet street near the museums, just a short walk from the centre. We visited when President Obama was in town and the staff told us of road and museum closures that might affect our stay. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,123 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,909 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#93 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing