We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #52 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel Aalders for three nights in April and had a fabulous stay. All the staff were really lovely, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The room, though we knew it would be small, was great. Clean with everything we could need:hairdryer, shower gel, a window that opened (great these days of air conditioning), a really comfy bed and pillows, an excellent, big shower and a telly with English channels.
The location has to be seen to be believed. Five minutes to three major museums, to the tram stop into town, to the canal boats and to the bus stop to and from airport.
One tip is to buy tickets for the Blue Boat Canal trip from the hotel as it is 5 euros cheaper. It also helped us to buy tickets for the Rijks museum and the Van Gogh gallery at the hotel as we then could skip the queues.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would go back with my husband and teens to a family room.

Room Tip: Our room 23 was great as it was two floors up and looked onto the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplechrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    599
    98
    19
    19
See reviews for
367
419
151
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent two nights and three days with my students at aalders hotel, and we all appreciated the hotel... The team is really nice and hepfull, the hotel very cosy and the building is placed in the middle of everything (you can easily go everywhere in Amsterdam just by walking)!! The breakfast is great and everything very clean!!!
But the best id that the hotel has a sensibility for the environment... That's an important point!!!! You'll see what if you go there.... (Water is the most important resource of our life)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevgi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Sevgi2010,

Thank you for staying with HOTEL AALDERS and for your kind words.
We are happy to hear that you and your students enjoyed our hotel and lovely city.

Hopefully we will see you next year with a new group !

Kind regards,


Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have just spent 2 very pleasant nights staying in the Hotel Aalders with my daughter while on a business trip. It's convenient, with the 2/5 trams at the end of the road as well as surrounded by the art galleries of Amsterdam. Yes - our room was small but it did the job ie comfortable & clean. We especially liked the breakfast in the lovely breakfast room and enjoyed a sit-down with a glass of wine in the little bar. Staff were friendly and courteous - and kind enough to email me having found a piece of forgotten jewellery. We would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracebeforemeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I and our teenage daughter visited this family run hotel at beginning of April 2014. We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and clean with nice bed-linen. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with lovely shower/ bath and plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer. Prior to our visit we were sent clear instructions of how to get there from the airport. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from tram and bus stop. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good advice on places to visit and provided tickets. The hotel is old and has character and is situated in an attractive tree-lined street.. It was just as I had expected having viewed the location on google street-view. The location was excellent for us as we wanted to visit the museums as well as seeing the city centre and canal area. The free WIFI was appreciated. An excellent buffet breakfast was provided. I thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Aileen H.,

Thank you very much for the nice words about our hotel and staff.
For us, it's always a great compliment to read that guests will be returning to our hotel without hesitation!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at Aalders Hotel in April 2014, for six nights. We booked a small double room through the site of the hotel, based on the photos there and the advises at TripAdvisor. When we arrived we were confused right at the entrance - not fitting with the descriptions we had. The hotel seemed old and not very comfortable. Right at the check-in they said we must pay in advance, and so we do. But when we saw the room we stayed very bothered. The room was incredebly small - some 8 square meters! - we had no space even to put two suitcases open, and surely no sufficent space of drawer to put our clothes. The toilet and bath facilities were also desperatly small. We complained and asked another room, they said it was impossible, bigger room were all took. After the first night we said that we were going to leave the hotel and search another. The manager said that any refund was impossible. I asked if the Aalders was a trap for foreigners, the manager replied that I was free to leave - but no money back. After some discussion the manager found a possível solution: 2 days in a bigger room, the next in a small one, the last two in a bigger, again. But with an overpayment of 80 euros. We accepted, because, really, we had no choice. Even so, the only thing good at Aalders is the location and the quiet street where it is. The classification of this hotel with 3 stars is erroneous, no more than 2 wil be just. The common spaces (corridors, stairs, lobby) are exiguous, we ear the noises from one room to another. Don't go to this hotel, the price may seem interesting, but it's awfully expensive considering what we get.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Jorge R,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
We regret to hear we did not meet the expectations you and your wife had about our accommodation.

Our Small Twin/Double Rooms are great for a lovely stay in Amsterdam, for a reasonable price.
When guests contact us about suggestions for longer stays, we always advice to book our Comfort Twin Room. As this room is more spacious (and comes with coffee and tea facilities).

We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you.

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great hotel in central location (museum area), with bus and trams stops nearby for easy access to the airport, central station and other areas in the City. Friendly and helpful staff - nothing is too much trouble, clean and tidy rooms, nice fresh bedding and functional bathrooms with hairdryer. Excellent buffet breakfast that covers all tastes. Would thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were five adults in 3 rooms. Although quite small, the rooms were all very good. They were light, scrupulously clean (as were the bathrooms) and the beds were very comfortable.There is free WiFi and a computer and printer available for doing on-line check-in and printing boarding passes for our return flight. The location is perfect: a few minutes walk from the museums and tram and bus stops, yet in a nice quiet street. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a generous breakfast. We had no complaints at all and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,044 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Property: Hotel Aalders
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing