We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly drains”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #56 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here regularly over the years. Last visit now: given room 21 on ground floor. After hearing drain noises coming from the bathroom shower drain, my room filled with an awful putrid smell of drains! Now I know why my room window was left wide open by the maid. Why don't hotels sort this stuff out????

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Narvik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Narvik,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about our hotel.
We take every feedback by heart and we are sorry to have to learn the circumstances of the drain from your review. Your stay unfortunately does not reflect the service we strive for at HOTEL AALDERS and for that we would like to offer our apologies.

The drain is being fixed as I am writing this reply.

Again our apologies for any inconvenience it may have cost.
We hope that you will return to our lovely city and our great small hotel.

Kind regards,

The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are a family with two little kids and spent here 4 nights over the Easter. A very nice room on the ground floor just fits our use. The room is very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast is relatively simple but good enough for us. The quiet location is ideal but also very convenient with the public transportation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zichen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Zichen J,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselfs during the time you stayed with us.

Hopefully we will see you again next easter!

Kind regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at Hotel Aalders for 3 nights. My single room was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in! But I knew in advance that it would be small, was traveling alone, and was not planning to spend any time in the room anyway, so it didn't matter to me. The room was very comfortable and looked out on a beautiful garden in the back. The location is perfect - literally around the corner from Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, one block from an extremely upscale shopping street (think Rodeo Drive), and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants, shopping districts, and tourist attractions. Also, one of the excellent electric trams runs right past the end of the street. Free Wi-Fi worked well, breakfasts were excellent, and the staff was all-around helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel Aalders for three nights in April and had a fabulous stay. All the staff were really lovely, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The room, though we knew it would be small, was great. Clean with everything we could need:hairdryer, shower gel, a window that opened (great these days of air conditioning), a really comfy bed and pillows, an excellent, big shower and a telly with English channels.
The location has to be seen to be believed. Five minutes to three major museums, to the tram stop into town, to the canal boats and to the bus stop to and from airport.
One tip is to buy tickets for the Blue Boat Canal trip from the hotel as it is 5 euros cheaper. It also helped us to buy tickets for the Rijks museum and the Van Gogh gallery at the hotel as we then could skip the queues.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and would go back with my husband and teens to a family room.

Room Tip: Our room 23 was great as it was two floors up and looked onto the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplechrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent two nights and three days with my students at aalders hotel, and we all appreciated the hotel... The team is really nice and hepfull, the hotel very cosy and the building is placed in the middle of everything (you can easily go everywhere in Amsterdam just by walking)!! The breakfast is great and everything very clean!!!
But the best id that the hotel has a sensibility for the environment... That's an important point!!!! You'll see what if you go there.... (Water is the most important resource of our life)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sevgi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Sevgi2010,

Thank you for staying with HOTEL AALDERS and for your kind words.
We are happy to hear that you and your students enjoyed our hotel and lovely city.

Hopefully we will see you next year with a new group !

Kind regards,


Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have just spent 2 very pleasant nights staying in the Hotel Aalders with my daughter while on a business trip. It's convenient, with the 2/5 trams at the end of the road as well as surrounded by the art galleries of Amsterdam. Yes - our room was small but it did the job ie comfortable & clean. We especially liked the breakfast in the lovely breakfast room and enjoyed a sit-down with a glass of wine in the little bar. Staff were friendly and courteous - and kind enough to email me having found a piece of forgotten jewellery. We would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracebeforemeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I and our teenage daughter visited this family run hotel at beginning of April 2014. We stayed in a triple room which was spacious and clean with nice bed-linen. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with lovely shower/ bath and plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer. Prior to our visit we were sent clear instructions of how to get there from the airport. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from tram and bus stop. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave good advice on places to visit and provided tickets. The hotel is old and has character and is situated in an attractive tree-lined street.. It was just as I had expected having viewed the location on google street-view. The location was excellent for us as we wanted to visit the museums as well as seeing the city centre and canal area. The free WIFI was appreciated. An excellent buffet breakfast was provided. I thoroughly recommend Hotel Aalders and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Manager at Hotel Aalders, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Aileen H.,

Thank you very much for the nice words about our hotel and staff.
For us, it's always a great compliment to read that guests will be returning to our hotel without hesitation!

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,


The HOTEL AALDERS Family & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#129 of 374 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £73 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing