We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #209 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    93
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
26
93
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I've stayed at the bicycle hotel five times now, sometimes alone, sometimes with my traveling companion. Many of the negative comments are true but it's still my favorite place to stay when I visit Amsterdam. The staff is great, especially Gerald. It's very easy to get to from Central Station, and easy to get FROM when you need to leave to get to the airport. If you're going to rent a bike, they make it cheap and easy. The bikes are adequate and don't have a big sign on them saying "I'm a tourist on a rented bike".

About the negatives. Yes, the stairs are narrow and steep and twisty. As a former house painter, I've climbed ladders more easily. Yes, it does seem more like a hostel than a hotel. But it's really the best of both worlds--the safety and privacy of a hotel with the camaraderie of a hostel. Some of the cheap rooms are dismal. One time the only thing available was a tiny dark room with a double army-style cot (in my youth I spent three years sleeping on such cots but as soon as a better room became available, I took it.). I've stayed in rooms with shared showers. The shower was clean. I'm sure sometimes guests get them when they aren't so clean. Maybe I was lucky because I get up early. My most recent stay was in what is probably their best room, a double with its own bathroom. It was excellent. The breakfast is good. A toaster on every table. Good coffee. Free WiFi, connection was good plus they have a computer for public use.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff here are really friendly - which is probably this hotel's only redeeming feature. The bathrooms haven't been cleaned in years and the stench is overwhelming. WiFi only works on the first couple of floors (we were on the top) which is infuriating.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Spagett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel had an overall feel that was very welcoming and open to talk to you if you had any queries or just fancied a chat.

The breakfast service was nice and had a good buffet style array of musli and cereal with milk and yoghurt if wanted. There was also breakfast cake and some other biscuit type breads. There were your typical fresh orange and apple juice jugs and also fresh fruit in a bowl, and various sliced meats for toast if you wanted. The jams were very nice and tasted of good quality.

For the first two nights I stayed in a double room and this was of modest size, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Nothing in the room seemed to be broken and everything was clean and welcoming. The only complaint about the room would have been the bright red "Hotel" sign outside of the window, although after the curtains were closed this did not matter. The single room was much the same clean and tidy with modest amenities. I forgot to mention however that there are sinks in each of the rooms and they were useful for say brushing your teeth as otherwise yo uwould have to use public areas. The only negatives for the single were that the door would not lock completely very easily and seemed to be a bit unpredictable and there was not much space in the room. But all in all for what was payed for the rooms they were very pleasant and comfortable and I had no problems with noise or getting to sleep.

The public areas were ok as this included a wet room shower and toilet on each floor. The shower worked well enough and it was quite spacious inside.

The location is of mixed reviews for me as my friends were staying in the Vondelpark area and so it meant that I had to travel which was not ideal. However it did make for some enjoyable bicycle roads along the roads of amsterdam. The bikes offered by the hotel were good solid bikes with no gears, but which seemed to do the trick well. The only downside was that they were bright yellow. The surrounding area to the hotel is excellent for value for food, with meals ranging from 6-10 euros for a meal, in contrast to Vondelpark or Central prices of about 10-20 euros for a meal. Overall whilst De Pjip area in which Bicycle hotel lies is disjointed from Central it is still only a bike ride away and has good value food nearby, and also many good cafes apparantly although I did not get a chance to visit them.

In all my stay at the Bicycle Hotel was very enjoyable and I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Bicycle Hotel is located really close to a tram line which goes straight to central station amongst other places, so it's really easy to get around. Everything is within walking distance as well if it's nice weather.

The rooms are really clean and the breakfast is great (help yourself to cereal, toast, cheese, ham etc). Great value for money. There's also free wifi, discount vouchers for attractions and bicycle rental.

Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank BBrown1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#226 of 368 in Amsterdam
284 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#253 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 368 in Amsterdam
111 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
195 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Property: Bicycle Hotel
Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing