We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our host Gerard assisted by the other staff made the stay tops. Nothing was a problem. Great location, easy information, great benefit with secure bike storage over the road. The beginning of a 1150km cycle odyssey around the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoWorldNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel seemed clean and the staff are friendly. The beds are REALLY nice, memory foam topper and lovely mattress. The bedroom we had was a 4 bed, which seemed like a converted king sized room, but there was enough space easily. The bathroom was clean and so was the shower. . The only thing i can fault it with was the fact the lights are motion sensitive, so if you are sat on the loo or in the shower for more than 2 minutes you might have to do a little dance to get the lights back on, i found it more entertaining than annoying at the time.
LOCATION
The hotel is situated about a 50 minute walk from the center or a two minute walk to a tram which can take you there. Two minute walk from two 'Cafes' if that is what you like. Two minute walk to MacDonald and subway. An equivalent to boots and on the corner of the street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the bicycle hotel for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The staff are all so chilled out, let us pay the day after arriving as we'd had a long coach journey. We hired bicycles for three days which was cheap and convenient, they give you your own key to the bike garage so you can come & go as you please. The hotel is in a really nice quiet area, but still very close to everything we wanted to see.The rooms are basic but just what we needed for a short stay, continental breakfast was basic but again just what we needed and great for the price. The shared shower and toilets were very clean and in good condition. We had a fantastic time! Would definitely go back to this little hotel :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmcope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here with a group of freinds for a 3 night weekend.

On the negative side: Rooms are cramped and very basic, really hostel class. The web pictures don't really show just how basic they are.

On the plus side:
Very freindly and helpful staff
Good system for out of hours arrival
Breakfast good
Location good to Ok - easy tram to Dam Square/station or nice 30 min walk to City through the Albert Cuyp market

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Awesome little budget hotel about a 10 - 15 minute tram ride from the centre and the train station. We stayed for 3 nights. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our travels - each table had their own toaster which was cute. We had room 13 on the first floor and the bed was really comfy. Only thing I would say is negative is that the stairs are very steep so if you were higher than the first floor it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Room 13 on the first floor right next to the bicycle neon sign is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#184 of 375 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 375 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#230 of 375 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#229 of 375 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#185 of 375 in Amsterdam
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing