We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WEE BREAK.”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #120 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel was small but nice,my room was at the front of the hotel over looking the main road so not much sleep. So ask for a room at the back for a good nights sleep.Location was very good just over the road from the train Station.And 5min stroll to Dam Sq..

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank 1010peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the A-Train Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good, cereals, juices, 2 different types of cheese, ham, boiled eggs and a few different types of breads. The hotel is across from Central Station which is 10-15 minutes from the Airport and costs €3.80 single trip. Some of the ticket machines only take credit cards but there are others that take coins.

The bedrooms are tiny. Very little space to move around. Rooms had TV and free Safe. The rooms were spotless - linen and towels changed each day. There was free internet in the breakfast room. The hotel is a bit pricey but you have to take the location into account and also we stayed on a Friday night. (weekends more expensive).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay again whenever we go back to Amsterdam. Our room was on the A side of the hotel but there wasn't a sound to be heard all night.. Amsterdam is a lovely city. A Farrell, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted somewhere reasonable for a family trip to Amsterdam, so we booked the apartment room. It was basic, but great value at about £100 per night for all five of us including a typical continental breakfast. The apartment is in the attic of the rear (B) side of the hotel - so away from the noisier street side. The room was clean and rather quirky and fun, with 3 children's beds on the upper level and a double bed and toddler bed with a play area and some toys downstairs,which is a nice touch if you have young kids. There is a small kitchen area with fridge kettle and microwave, very handy, and a wet room style shower/toilet with a nice powerful shower. The beds were very comfy, the TV a little basic but working and has some uk channels. WI-Fi is 7.50 Euros for 24 hours or use the free communal computer in restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the outset letting us store our cases and offering us breakfast when we arrived a few hours early. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and anyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GnomeLampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have found the staff very friendly and helpful each time.
Ideal location facing the centraal station and just a few short minutes walk to everything the centre of Amsterdam has to offer.
A room on the B side of the hotel is best as the A side is on the front of a very busy and noisey street.
The rooms are very clean and of average size for Amsterdam hotels ( all are small due to the nature of the buildings).
Would stay there again as its easy to find and very central

Room Tip: B side of the hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

a very convenient hotel..its very near to the amsterdam centraal. walking distance. very easy to find. And near to damrak. for muslim you can find many halal food nearby damrak. and near to the amsterdam cruise counter. and the room is very nice, tidy and comfortable for the price. the bathroom's clean. you can also get /buy hotwater at the ground floor.
i like this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moshimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Small Hotel very close to the train central station. The hotel looks like a train. Good for short staying. Mattres to soft. No restaurant. The city centre is in a walk way distance. Buffet breakfast within standards. Prices relatively high but probably you can not find anything cheaper with the same quality and facilities nearby in Amsterdam. Approved.

Room Tip: Very close to the train central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurelio_marchesini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Dec 2010. Fantastic location, just across the train station (we took the Thalys train from Paris), and a few blocks away from Dam Square. The staff and owner were quite friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Our room as smaller than average but still comfortable, quite clean, with comfortable beds and very nice bathroom. We had to pay for wifi access, but the rate was reasonable and service was fast. One of the best hotels that you will find in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. The back area faces a wall which might make you claust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aforeignaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,180 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 372 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £89 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing