We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and fun theme”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #113 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed there for just 1 night in a "family room". We were two couples and needed a larger room, which was perfect for us. The rooms are rather small, but it is an older building and it was sufficient for us, since we only spent a night there and were out for most of the day. The only thing which bothered me a little was the bathroom, the shower was open and the water got every where. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was simple but more than sufficient (and included in the price!!) The hotel is literally only a 5 mins walk from the train station, which was a great location and it's very convenient to walk to other places, bars and many restaurants. The gentleman at the reception (Levy?!) was super friendly and welcoming. I loved the train theme of the breakfast area and the hotel. I would def stay there again, for the rate we got.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Right opposite the Central train station, this is a great hotel with an entirely train-oriented theme. Our room was small, but reminded us of a twin sleeper car (not that small, thank god!) The hotel building is very old (1800s), so don't expect huge rooms like modern hotels. The staff was wonderful - we had tons of fun chatting with them as they directed us around Amsterdam. We didn't need airconditioning, and our room faced the courtyard so was rather quiet. Any problems were dealt with quickly and with good humor - they tolerated two tired and thus punchy tourists very well. Good breakfast - no hot foods other than toast, but cereal, toast, cheese, meats, and coffee, juice, and tea. Only drawback was the bed was a bit soft - but anything would be after running all over Europe! Would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Twin rooms may be a bit small, and there doesn't seem to be airconditioning (not needed for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My room was small and very basic, but I was ok with that. It was clean and comfortable. The staff helped get me settled in and comfortable with the area. I thought breakfast was good, not a huge selection but not awful either. Can't beat the location! Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank HandsUp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I stayed here. The location right opposite the central station was great for a tired traveller like me. 20 minutes on the train from Schipol & straight to the hotel.
My room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
The front desk were very helpful, breakfast was ok.
Great value for money, I'd stay here again for sure.
Compared to a nearby chain hotel that my colleagues were in for much more money, this was the better option.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westhamfrom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We chose the Hotel to be close to the train station, which was perfectly situated, we had the courtyard room, absolutely adorable! Price was Excellant breakfast was very basic but it did the job. Hotel staff were excellent thoroughly enjoyed our first look at Amsterdam , and would definately stay at the A Train again if we went back.

Room Tip: Cant remember what they called the room, but it had its own courtyard, a little bit more expensive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimberlyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. Its very close to the main train station & the centre of Amsterdam.
The staff at reception were friendly & helpful.
The room was small but I had had smaller so no complaints from me and the breakfast which was included in the room price was pretty good.
Overall I thought this place was a little expensive for what we got but there were none cheaper close by so this one would have to do.
I would definitly stay here again though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is very old and the rooms are extremely small. Very hot as there is no air-conditioning. Breakfast was basic. Bed very small. The only think that was good was the location. We arrived to find nothing was ready for us and had to leave belongings and call back 4 hours later. Very disappointed as there did not seem to be any other guests arriving or had been there prior to our booking on that date.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel. We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau".

The A-Train Hotel has a 24 hours check in and our check out is at 11.00 hours.
You can always check in, rooms are normally always available at 15.00 hours.
When we know that you will arrive earlier we will try to have your room ready.
If the room is not yet available you can leave your luggage in our luggage storage room.

Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 373 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 373 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £83 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing