We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service , great central hotel and good value”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #121 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
kent
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service , great central hotel and good value”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We visited 29/1 for 2 nights , I had an issue when I booked but the manager rectified this , originally I was charged for a travel cot but the manager kindly let us have this for free after complaining as when I phoned up a member of staff said they never charge for cot .
Nice clean room with lovely high Celling in typically Dutch house ,comfortable beds , clean facilities , nr central station .
Staff were very kind to my 22 month old son , free candy and they warmed his milk up morning and night and washed his bottle up , not much room for cot and buggy but the family room was fully booked .
Breakfast was nice and a lovely Dutch lady who was doing the breakfast was very kind to my son , thank you a train , we will be back , we enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catz2Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    418
    162
    42
    24
See reviews for
153
343
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Basically, me and my friends are chased out in the middle of the night only because 3 of us stayed together in the room for 2 until late night. This old guy banged at our door loudly and even barked in using their own card and yelled, well more to screaming, at us asked us to leave immediately in midnight. I mean, you are a hotel providing services to customers. This is totally unethical. You could told us to leave professionally and we would not be offended. We offered to book an extra room and the guys just yelled at us screaming so loud that we could not even understand what he was saying. Even worse, the next day, we went back there to request for the refund because we have paid for 2 consecutive days because we were not staying there anymore and we were chased out in the middle of the night. By right, the hotel should have refund us the money. We talked nicely to the guy, but he replied by screaming and banging the table. What kind of hotel give that kind of service to the customer. He refused to refund us for our advance payment and asked us to report to the police station. Come on, does this even have anything to do with police? We are just tourist having fun in Amsterdam and you asked your customer to mess with police just because we want the refund? Are you out of your mind? Overall, this is the worst hotel I have been to ever! Not only the services, the room was also not that good. It was quite small and dark. I seriously would not recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmeandparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very central location - if you are coming to amsterdam via the central train station then it is ideal as you don't have to drag your bags across the city. Friendly staff, very accommodating to traveller needs (even changed currency for me at decent rate) and nice theme. Bedroom decor could be spruced up a bit however.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Great and friendly staff, nice breakfast and clean rooms. Was a good experience and loved that it was so close to everything. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The train theme was fun!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xandersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The A-train hotel is just across from central station, I have stayed here a number of times, at least 4 or 5 and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else to be honest, Amsterdam well is just Amsterdam, you are not going there to wow just the hotel you are going to wow and explore the city, and this is the best place in my eyes to do it. you couldn't be anymore in the centre but just enough out of the way from all the idiots that still lurk the streets at silly times, there are tons of bars and restaurants right on your door step, the breakfast is fare and the staff all work as a team making sure all your needs are met 100% at the end of the day for the price you pay take it from me you will not find a better more comfortable stay that the A-train hotel, I will certainly be staying there again and continue doing so every time I visit this wonderful fascinating city,

5 stars from me guys all the way and thank you for you hospitality it makes a massive difference.
Brian from Rochdale, Manchester uk

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerava, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked our hotel very late, and had to be happy of what was left. Then we found A-Train and decided to give it a shot and it was great! The rooms were very clean, no bed bugs or other nasty surprises. The service was very good and friendly, especially the service we got from the lovely lady of the breakfast restaurant. We missed the breakfast on our first morning and she actually brought more bread etc to the breakfast table just for us. That really made my day! The guys at the reception were also great and the whole stay was really pleasant. The room was good for two, it was quiet, the beds were comfortable and the location is as good as it gets. The next time I go to Amsterdam, I'm definitely staying here!

Helpful?
1 Thank ruhtinas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#162 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#60 of 368 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,442 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing