We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #127 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unpretentious”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel doesn't pretend to be what it isn't- however it is very conveniently located if you are using public transport,(train, tram or bus) or walking to see the city sights, is well secured at night and offers clean rooms and an adequate breakfast for a reasonable price for a large European city. We found the front desk staff friendly and helpful. Have to pay for Wi-Fi but there is a computer terminal for guest's use. Many restaurants close by and also a supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back, often very noisy at night in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    405
    159
    41
    24
See reviews for
148
332
67
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cole Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was well located for seeing many sights and close to the dock where our river cruise was leaving.Also near the train station so getting to the airport was easy too.There was a nice breakfast included in our stay.Everyone was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights. We had a difficult time finding something that was close to center of the city without it being ridiculously expensive so this fit the bill. If you are looking for luxury this is not it however considering the location and the fact that it was clean and included breakfast, we felt we got our money's worth. We arrived to Amsterdam via train so it was great that we were able to just walk to the hotel and we were also able to walk all around the city. Staff were courteous and helpful if we had any questions. We would stay here if we were to visit this city again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DRgirl_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Only positive was the central location. We were put in a very tiny old room at back of hotel. Bedroom & Bathroom very dark & smelly. Double bed was jammed in corner against wall with head against window. No room to unpack bags except on bed.
Door lock was broken. Staff could not operate it with card key, so initially lent us a mechanical key. This only worked for a few hours, due to broken spring in lock. System was never fixed,. At times one of us had to remain in room as door could not be unlocked from outside. Staff never passed on messages re the lock to their relief at changes of shift. When we left after 4 nights, they said that new lock parts would be ordered.
Choices for breakfast were sparse.
No free wi-fi in room - charge E 5p/d.
Room was not made up on one day. No bath-mat supplied.
Kitchen staff pleasant. Very casual attitude by other staff.

The worst of 13 hotels we stayed at in Europe this trip, and one of the worst ever. Should not have a 3 star rating. It is on a par with a cheap backpackers facility.

Room Tip: If you do elect to stay there, insist on one of the rooms shown in their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spent hours searching online for a hotel in central Amsterdam that suited our needs - we found it in the A-Train Hotel - just one block from the main railway, tram and bus station with canal boats in between. It has a great train theme which makes it unique. Arriving very early they allowed us to leave our luggage but by the time we were ready to head out our room was ready (we think they got it done first so we could move in). We needed a 3 bed room which had bathroom ensuite (wet-room style). Lovely fluffy white towels. We had a TV that everyone could watch from bed, 2 tables and 3 chairs. The sheets were white & crisp and we used the lift as we were on the 1st floor. Room, compared to others looked at was much larger. We each needed an extra pillow which was provided quickly and a blanket as we are used to duvets and not bedspreads. We had room #109 which was quiet and warm - we had to open the sash windows. The drain in the shower was a bit slow - mentioned it and it was sorted within hours. Small things - beds are narrower than used to and a little soft but we all slept well. We were a bit disappointed internet connection wasn't free so made other plans / entertainment. Next door is a supermarket (Albert Heijn), a tourist shop, various restaurants but on the pedestrian street one block behind, many eateries - choice is endless. About 3 blocks away is Chinatown and De Wallen.
The hotel is in sight of the main railway station and we mostly used the trams which are round the corner (main route for all the main sights and all suburbs). Breakfast was included from 7-10am with good variety - different sliced cheeses, hams, 4 different soft breads, crisp bread, boiled eggs, fruit, lots of different jams/spreads, fresh orange juice, cereals + yoghurt and a machine that provides free tea / coffee / hot chocolate during breakfast but is EU1.20 at all other times. The restaurant has train theme - comfy booths like in the older style trains / train stations. Hotel post box next to the main reception (stamps from the supermarket next door) and we were given a free map which ended up in pieces through use - best map compared to some of the others we found. Considering general hotel prices in Amsterdam this was definitely value for money. We stayed 5 nights and I would definitely stay there again - good idea to book early as it gets full quite quickly. We also found the other guests were a lot from other areas in the Nederlands, Germans, Brits and Americans. Thank you A-Train we enjoyed our time in your hotel after tiring exploration of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Amsterdam is a noisy city - we had room 109 which was towards the back and it was quiet which is wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyDinghySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you, you make me blush!

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.

On the June 4, all matrasses were replaced by a slightly 'harder ' type.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we were flying in and then leaving on a barge/bike trip the next day. It is very convenient to the train station. We arrived early in the morning and were able to leave our luggage as we walked around Amsterdam. When we returned about noon, the room was not ready but they gave us another room which was located behind the breakfast room on the ground floor. I was afraid it might be noisy, but it wasn't. At night we did not hear any of the traffic noise either. The floors were heated. Very simple room but had everything we wanted. The breakfast was very good and had a great selection. The train theme was carried out there as well. I would highly recommend this hotel for short stays as it does not require a taxi or tram ride from the station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The room was tiny with two single beds which were so uncomfortable and the sheets were dirty. It's in desperate need of decorating, it's so dark. The only thing going for it is it's location.
I wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trems1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small.
For other readers, just look at our other reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#159 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#146 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing