We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody rip off!”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #116 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Guy on desk was rude and acting as if the place was the Ritz or something..we paid...152 euros..left bags..when we came back for keys and saw twin bedded room we demanded our money back..then went to the much better Victoria Hotel for not much more money. ..crap crap crap

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornajane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We are a 3* hotel in located in 4 monumental buildings and of course our standard room sizes are smaller than in 4/5* star hotels, like the Victoria.

Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is just right across Amsterdam Central (train station). Hotel main theme is train . So the owner loves anything about train, breakfast is simple but good . Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean. This hotel is just 5 min away from Damrak. There is also a supermarket right next to this hotel making it easy to buy drinks and tidbits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tripadvisor revues do not always give you the full story. For all future research we will read many more negative reports to assist us to understand exactly what we are getting.

We booked a double room and stayed in room 301 on the third floor. During our stay it was unusually warm for that time of year and without air-conditioning we really struggled to get a good night sleep as the outside noise continues into the early hours being so close to the station. May be ear plugs would have assisted us and allowed us to leave the window open.

It would have been difficult to get the double bed into the room. It was pushed into the corner and protruded past the bathroom. There was no space for an open suitcase and the wall mounted TV could not be turned far enough to face the only viewing position…the bed. Basic inclusions were 2 of each; bath towels, hand towels, soap dispensers, toilet rolls and 8 hangers…That was it!

The location is excellent as was the service but we would not stay there again as we felt it was poor value.

Room Tip: Check negative revues to get a better picture of your selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.

The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, telephone, WIFI, wake-up system and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau". Airco's were not allowed.
If you look at our pictures, you will see that our rooms are relatively small, we have nothing to hide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The wife & myself have just had another great trip too Amsterdam and the A-train hotel,prebooked and managed to grab our favourite room (a-side 204) nice and quiet on the second floor (lift available) also you can smoke (normal bacci ) :) Breakfast was superb,we even had some on arival,and this was after the kitchen was closed. Made welcome again by the staff who some of remember us from previous visits.

All the attractions be it,smoking,drinking,canal trips,red light dist,clubs and pubs are all within easy walking distance,also if traveling by train,the hotel is facing central station.

Next door theres the Albert supermarket,this shop will cater for all your needs at a great price,pop in here for a sandwich and eat it in the atrains lounge,a cheaper option to eating out.

Thanks again people,hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kathy & Bob.

x

Room Tip: A-side 204 for peace and quiet pluss smoking allowed (normal bacci)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here over the May bank holiday with our family from Australia. The staff are especially good with children and the kids of course are fascinated by all the railway memorabilia. Excellent typical dutch breakfast. Family rooms are huge.Perfectly located: Centraal station and the tram terminus are on the opposite side of the road; excellent pub a few steps to the right; excellent supermarket a few steps to the left. The map they give you is the best one of A'dam I have ever had. Staff are friendly and helpful and will do anything for you. Will always stay here in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Simple, nice place, good price, very centrally located, and good breakfast. Rooms are a bit small but we knew from other rewiews. Our room had a window overlooking the top of the breakfast area. They do not offer any toiletries do you'd better have your own.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel doesn't pretend to be what it isn't- however it is very conveniently located if you are using public transport,(train, tram or bus) or walking to see the city sights, is well secured at night and offers clean rooms and an adequate breakfast for a reasonable price for a large European city. We found the front desk staff friendly and helpful. Have to pay for Wi-Fi but there is a computer terminal for guest's use. Many restaurants close by and also a supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back, often very noisy at night in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,392 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 376 in Amsterdam
977 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#166 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,282 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,044 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 376 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £82 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing