We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A-Train Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
270
457
171
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
457
171
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthemed hotelcentral stationgreat locationboiled eggsthe breakfast areafamily roomvending machinecontinental breakfastrooms are smallunique hotelnice breakfastcold meatsmajor attractionsdam squarecouple of nightsred light districtwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 966 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Guy on desk was rude and acting as if the place was the Ritz or something..we paid...152 euros..left bags..when we came back for keys and saw twin bedded room we demanded our money back..then went to the much better Victoria Hotel for not much more money. ..crap crap crap

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lornajane40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We are a 3* hotel in located in 4 monumental buildings and of course our standard room sizes are smaller than in 4/5* star hotels, like the Victoria.

Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is just right across Amsterdam Central (train station). Hotel main theme is train . So the owner loves anything about train, breakfast is simple but good . Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean. This hotel is just 5 min away from Damrak. There is also a supermarket right next to this hotel making it easy to buy drinks and tidbits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tripadvisor revues do not always give you the full story. For all future research we will read many more negative reports to assist us to understand exactly what we are getting.

We booked a double room and stayed in room 301 on the third floor. During our stay it was unusually warm for that time of year and without air-conditioning we really struggled to get a good night sleep as the outside noise continues into the early hours being so close to the station. May be ear plugs would have assisted us and allowed us to leave the window open.

It would have been difficult to get the double bed into the room. It was pushed into the corner and protruded past the bathroom. There was no space for an open suitcase and the wall mounted TV could not be turned far enough to face the only viewing position…the bed. Basic inclusions were 2 of each; bath towels, hand towels, soap dispensers, toilet rolls and 8 hangers…That was it!

The location is excellent as was the service but we would not stay there again as we felt it was poor value.

Room Tip: Check negative revues to get a better picture of your selection.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.

The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, telephone, WIFI, wake-up system and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau". Airco's were not allowed.
If you look at our pictures, you will see that our rooms are relatively small, we have nothing to hide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The wife & myself have just had another great trip too Amsterdam and the A-train hotel,prebooked and managed to grab our favourite room (a-side 204) nice and quiet on the second floor (lift available) also you can smoke (normal bacci ) :) Breakfast was superb,we even had some on arival,and this was after the kitchen was closed. Made welcome again by the staff who some of remember us from previous visits.

All the attractions be it,smoking,drinking,canal trips,red light dist,clubs and pubs are all within easy walking distance,also if traveling by train,the hotel is facing central station.

Next door theres the Albert supermarket,this shop will cater for all your needs at a great price,pop in here for a sandwich and eat it in the atrains lounge,a cheaper option to eating out.

Thanks again people,hope to see you all again in the near future.

Kathy & Bob.

x

Room Tip: A-side 204 for peace and quiet pluss smoking allowed (normal bacci)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here over the May bank holiday with our family from Australia. The staff are especially good with children and the kids of course are fascinated by all the railway memorabilia. Excellent typical dutch breakfast. Family rooms are huge.Perfectly located: Centraal station and the tram terminus are on the opposite side of the road; excellent pub a few steps to the right; excellent supermarket a few steps to the left. The map they give you is the best one of A'dam I have ever had. Staff are friendly and helpful and will do anything for you. Will always stay here in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews