We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CENTRAL - WARM AND FRIENDLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #132 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY CENTRAL - WARM AND FRIENDLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

IT May not be a 4 or 5 star hotel, but I give it 5 stars for the warm and friendly atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, breakfast is good and situated in a very central area. Walk to the station, dam square, grocery stores etc..If you are looking for a 3 star hotel, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book the quadruple room, be prepared to have 2 beds upstairs and 2 beds downstairs (in the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heloise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    402
    158
    41
    24
See reviews for
147
328
65
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Si bien no es un hotel barato, en Amsterdam ninguno lo es! Las habitaciones eran espaciosas (triples) y el personal atento. Desayuno normal. concepto muy particular. Las habitaciones muy limpias, lo cual se agradece especialmente en el baño. Las alfombras las aspiraban todos los días y nos consta! La ubicación es realmente excelente, frente a la Terminal de trenes y de ahí es muy fácil moverte. No tuve ningún problema para dormir. Wifi de pago.

If so it isnt a cheap hotel, no one in Amsterdam is!! Rooms are spacious (I was in a triple), supportive staff. Regular breakfast, particular concept (trains), very clean rooms, wich is always appreciated especially the bathrooms. They vacuum the carpets every day (we might say). Great great great location, just in front.. literally in front of the Amsterdam Central, wich is so easy to move into the city. I didn't have any problems sleeping. WIFI is not for free. I recommend it, I probably would be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The A-Train is directly across the street from the central train station. No taxi required. The rooms are very basic but the location and great breakfast make for good value. I you like trains, this place is for you. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel its very close to the Central Station however, the beds are the worst I have ever slept in my life considering the price of one night is very high.

I recommend you to look to a different place around

Room Tip: Don´t get the end rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed there for 2 days and found the staff most helpful with any information I asked about. Also the lift was great to have instead of using stairs with luggage etc. Breakfast was very well catered for and the room I stayed in was very tidy. I will be traveling back in a few weeks time and have booked to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye19602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We (family of 5) stayed in the family suite for three nights. It was quiet, but a little warm upstairs with no AC but the fan was fine. The room is big with a small kitchenette attached to the loft and living area. Breakfast was pretty basic. The location, however, is the best. Straight across from the train and within walking distance to most of the attractions in the inner ring, it's incredibly convenient access back to the airport and out of or into the city.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank witchdoc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is allocated opposite the train station .if you travel by Eurostar " The train" is the
perfect place to stay in.
It is also very convenient for walking in Amsterdam ,exploring the town and then quick and easy
come back to have a rest or change clothes.
The theme of the hotel( like his name) is " Train" and inside it looks like a train.It is unusual. It is
attractive and unique in some way.You got the impression that you are in train.
It is a bit narrow,it is not luxury,but,common,guys,what do you expect- this is a TRAIN!
And we don't go to stay indoor. We' ve got everything we needed ( for the money we paid ) and we enjoyed the hotel.
The room was clean.
The staff was nice and friendly.The breakfast - good and enough.
I recommended this hotel to all my friends
And i will recommend it again,to everyone who need a place to stay and to see
the Amsterdam's sights

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are not so no The rooms on the top floor are far from the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,741 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing