We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a jewel”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #126 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
CORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a jewel”
Reviewed 15 November 2005

We (a family of 4 adults and 1 child) stayed here from Friday 11th November until Monday 14th November and absolutely loved this hotel. We were probably lucky in that we stayed in their family apartment at the top floor at the back of the hotel and it really felt like we were staying in a Dutch House more so than a hotel. We had a 3 year old child with us and when the A-Train mentioned in their advertisment that they had a 'toy-box' we expected it to have a few old broken toys but that was not the case. There was a fantastic 'complete' train track with train and some other toys that our little boy just loved.

The room was very spacious and quirky with a lovely bathroom and a kitchenette (microwave, kettle, fridge, tea, coffee etc), a little sitting room with table, a lovely little kiddies bed, 2 beds downstairs and then a little attic balcony with a further 3 beds.

The hotel staff were lovely and always gave our little boy sweets every day. The breakfast was fine and as all the other reviews mentioned - the location was fantastic.

I would DEFINITELY stay here again and loved the fact that it didn't have the impersonal atmosphere of most hotels.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank KIZMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    412
    160
    41
    24
See reviews for
150
335
68
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2005

Have just arrived back from a three-night stay in the A-Train Hotel in Amsterdam. Since I often use tripadvisor to weigh up options when travelling I thought I'd contribute something back with my first review here.

The A-Train Hotel is very conveniently located, being on the opposite side of a road and small canal basin from Amsterdam Centraal railway station. Thus it is also a short walk from Dam Square and other central attractions.

Most of Amsterdam's tram services start from outside Centraal Station (and many buses), and the canal basin mentioned is home to a couple of the companies offering a variety of canal cruises. It is thus easy to get to much of Amsterdam and the rest of the Netherlands quickly and easily from the A-Train hotel on the public transport system. Centraal Station is just a 20 minute train ride from Schiphol Airport - we landed at Schiphol at 2035 and were at the A-Train hotel by 2130.

The A-Train is a family-run hotel whose owners are clearly dedicated to ensuring your stay with them is a pleasant one. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

We were asked to pay on arrival (even though we had reserved with a credit card), and this might not be every customer's ideal way of doing business but with hindsight, at the A-Train at least, I'm sure of their will to address any justifiable problems quickly.

Our room (described as a 'first class' room on their web site) was compact but clean and comfortable and featured a walk-in shower, wc, refridgerator, comfortable arm chair and tea and coffee-making facilities. Heating (radiators) and hot water supply to the bathroom were good.

Although our room was situated on the front of the building the windows (when closed) ensured we were not unduly disturbed by traffic or other noise from outside. There is a lift to take you to the upper floors. Internet access is available for those who need it.

The breakfast buffet featured fresh white, brown and fruit breads (and toast too), hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, honey and jams along with several breakfast cereals and also tea, coffee and hot chocolate drinks. The hot drinks were dispensed from a machine but this didn't detract from their quality.

Breakfast was taken in the lounge area (no-smoking at breakfast time) which, along with the rest of the hotel, has a railway theme. No meals are served at the A-Train (other than breakfast) but there is a vending machine between the reception area and the lounge area selling cans of Heineken beer and soft drinks, along with crisps and chocolate.

Obviously there is a very wide choice of restaurants in the City - for a lucky-dip selection I'd recommend catching the Tram to Leidseplein (No.5 from the hotel will certainly get you there). Joselito's Tapas bar around the corner from the A-Train (turn left when leaving the hotel and keep walking along and round the block until you find it) is ideal if you want somewhere close to the hotel.

I've visited Amsterdam many times over the years and have never found a hotel there that I'd like to return to - until now. Any future visits we make to Amsterdam I'll be staying at the A-Train. I look forward to the next trip.

Helpful?
20 Thank JupilerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2005

The rooms are small, but that is the norm for Europe. That said - location, location, location ! Very near the Central station, the main shopping artery, the canal boat tour offices and the grown up fun side of Amsterdam, this little gem is a treasure. Breakfast is included. Nothing fancy, but substantial and you can eat your fill. The management and staff are terrific and eager to pass on hints, helps and every courtesy possible. Loved the train decor. All in all, it is a terrific place to hang ones' luggage ( or backpack ) and start exploring Amsterdam. Oh, there is internet access - either using their pc or your own.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bsnmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

We saw a very good review of the A Train hotel on Tripadvisor and we endorse it. This is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Very well positioned opposite Central Station. The rates are very reasonable for a 3*** hotel with all the facilities in the room. The room was very small but comfortable, clean and well maintained with ensuite. The hotel has a railway theme and this is well presented in the very pleasant breakast room. The hotel rates include a good breakfast and there is the bonus of an elevator. The staff are very friendly and helpful

Helpful?
9 Thank brabs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2005

Lovely hotel, staff helpful and it was very clean. Perfect position just across the road from Central Station, in the middle of everything but still quiet. Would definately use again.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 September 2005

Excellent stay, friendly staff, comfortable room, (had the chance to upgrade to a bigger room on the front) which overlooked central station, good location, includes breakfast in the price, could not have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 368 in Amsterdam
4,915 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing