We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$142
View deal
Expedia.comUS$142
PricelineUS$142
Hotels.comUS$142
eDreamsUS$142
FindHotelUS$142
CheapTicketsUS$142
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
338
508
189
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
338
508
189
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station great location family room hard boiled eggs continental breakfast rooms are small unique hotel short break the red light district amsterdam centraal hotel is situated luggage dutch supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This hotel is all about its location and theme. It is incredibly close to the main railway station, and has capitalised on that with its name and railway memorabilia from every continent. If you like that kind of thing (which I do) it is a good place. Do not expect spacious luxury rooms though.

Location: brilliant for the station (and therefore for the airport) and excellent for the walk into the old centre.

Room: smallish and rather dingy. Not inspiring, but adequate.

Food: decent self-service breakfast.

Service: pleasant but not inspiring. We were lent an umbrella, though!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LawranceTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Really what we were looking for was a hotel close to the station. This certainly is, plus it looked like a fun place to stay.
Although Jay at reservations felt we may need the use of the luggage room as we had a number of cases, and he warned us the rooms were not huge we found them fine by European standards.
Breakfast was a bit basic, but then so was the b&b price we happily paid.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MaryA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The A-train hotel is conveniently located near the Central station. You can actually see it as you step out of the station.

Nothing fancy about this hotel but it was very decent. We booked a family room which was split over two levels: a double bed on the lower level and two separate beds on the upper level accessible by ladder/ staircase (we could not decide the best description!)

The hotel was clean and had free WiFi.

Breakfast was quite good for this type of hotel (ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, bread, cereals etc). The decor was very charming, centred around one theme: trains and railways.

As I said, the location is very convenient. Most attractions are within easy walking distance (10-20 mins walk). The Van Gogh museum and Heineken Experience are a 40 minute walk away.

To conclude, I'd say that this was a good hotel overall and would certainly not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mfar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

A first class hotel with first class staff. Very friendly and conscientious cant do enough for you any time of the day and night. We ordered food helped us with the order. The rooms were spotless and spacious. Very comfortable beds. Had a lovely coffee from them on the last day. The breakfast was lovely. I definitely recommend uts quirky original full if character.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We have stayed at the A-Train Hotel for 4 nights recently. It is located at 2 minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central Station and the main tram junction in town. The first amazing surprise is the beatiful pictures on Indian trains you can find at the entrance and all sort of curious items related with trains decorating the lounge. It's really awesome and peculiar. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is excelent.But the most grateful thing is the kindness of the staff. They are always willing to help with the tourist information and make you feel like at home.

Room tip: We would recommend a back side room
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jordi_y_Elisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews