We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice Here”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #124 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
N. California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Choice Here”
Reviewed 6 November 2006

I am very happy that i stayed at this hotel. It is conviently located near the train station for arrival/departure and tram use while in town. It is far enough away from the trains that noise is not a problem. The staff was friendly and spoke english well. Room was typically european (small, adequete). One drawback was that the room did have a cigarette smell going on. Bathroom was clean and modern. The entire city center is within walking distance, although trams are best for traveling to the Van Gogh Museum area. Breakfast was fine...and also run-of-the-mill european. Ham, turkey, cheeses, toast, cereal, and coffee/juice. I paid about 95 euros/night for a twin room (Sun-Wed). All in all a fine choice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGusCotati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    415
    161
    41
    24
See reviews for
152
338
70
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

One of the huge bonuses of this place is its handy location. You just hop on a train from the airport, and the hotel is visible from the train station. You can get there within 2 minutes! It is also located right in the heart of Amsterdam, within walking distance of everything a tourist would want to see.

The staff were helpful and friendly, allowing us to stow our luggage until our room was ready (we arrived at 7.30am Sunday morning due to our flight!). Despite jetlag we went straight to the Anne Frank Huis and were first in the queue for when it opened at 9am! The rest of Amsterdam was clearly still sleepy from revelry the night before!

The room was very small but quite adequate for a short stay. The bath room was modern although strangely designed in that the shower water went everywhere and almost out onto the carpet. The first shower I took almost flooded the bathroom (due to a block in the drain) but help was sought and the problem speedily handled by the management. I wouldn't advise elderly or disabled people staying here, however. The stairs were very narrow and very steep (much like the rest of Amsterdam) and we had to climb up them to our bedroom.

It was very warm when we stayed so we just turned the fan on and opened the windows. There was no street noise at all and we slept very well. The breakfast was very good and prepared us well for our busy days. I think people who criticise the breakfast would do well to recall that it is complimentary and that in most other countries this would not have been complimentary.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again without hesitation!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Getting lost in Amsterdam is a must-do - especailly with jetlag!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank newzealandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Ideal for a short break, great location across from the central station, walking distance to everywhere or near trams if you prefer. The Old Dutch Suite has small patio with table and chairs and best of all the en suite was spotless, with energy saving toilet flush and fabulous shower.

  • Liked — clean bathroom
  • Disliked — blanket and bedspread a wee bit old
  • Tips/Secrets — get the 'Old Dutch' suite for a little extra room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsybrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

i have been in many hotels all around the world:
in A Train hotel you have to pay 7,50€ to watch CNN,CNBC and others dutch chennel(brodcast by cable tv)
The room are very small and the bed was very soft . Breakfast was terrible and the open bufe seems very poor.The manager and the owner were very rude and nervouse.l will never go back again

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — managment attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid it
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed a few days at this hotel. Very conveniently, it is 2 mins walk away from the station, and everything else. The room wasn't fancy or large, but clean and sufficient, and reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was self-serve, normal choice of food. The seating area had a very interesting 'train' theme. I will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

I spent hours on the internet trying to find somewhere central in Amsterdam that had an ensuite and did not blow the budget. I finally decided on the A-train because of the reviews and it was also one of the cheaper hotels that met our requirements. We took the train in from the airport and had our instructions on how to get to the hotel, but we didn't need them as you could see the hotel straight away - brilliant! Once we were inside we were once again pleasantly suprised - we had expected it to be a little dark and dingy (from photos etc) but it was lovely. I was preparing myself for the difficult climb up stairs but there was a lift! Although I would say that the room is small we were pleasantly suprised again as we had expected smaller and the ensuite was lovely, clean and modern. We thought it was going to be difficult to sleep because of the location but our room was not on the street. There was a little noise from tenants in neighbouring buildings (because buildings are so close) but nothing major. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We would definitely recommend the A-train.

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — no place for suitcase
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Waipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Great location, close to all the action. We got off the train and rolled our luggage across the bridge to the hotel Nice room at a great price. The place is kept clean and the desk people do a great job of maintaining security. Everything is included, in the price, no surprises. The staff is first rate, especially the woman who runs the breakfast room. I recommend choosing a First Class room. This room is bigger and has a view of the canal and the Central Station. The fridge in the room is great for storing drinks and food. Don't concern yourself about the shower set up, the water won't reach the room. The elevator is quite big for this type hotel. Just look out for the high thresholds on the doorways. Remember to lift your feet or you'll go on a trip of a different type.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Telcoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
920 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing