We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps that make or break”
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Ranked #47 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you are able to navigate about 5 steps up the door, 17 steps up to the first floor, another 15 steps up to the second floor (that's where our room was) , with about 15 kilos of luggage on one hand and the other holding on to the railing just in case your sideways step doesn't slide off the very narrow steps (I wear a size 36 shoes), congratulations - you've made it to your room! After 3 days, your challenge is going down, sadly this time, your luggage a tad heavier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

The room assigned to us hadnt been properly cleaned (used sheets), electric light switch came off in my hand, staff friendly but didn't help with luggage...but otherwise pleasant and well-located hotel but in need of refurbishing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Entrance of hotel is very small, narrow as well as lots of stairs and steep before you reach the first landing, so pack light. They have a wench system to move luggage however, our group did not use. Rooms are located on several floors, so more walking and hauling of luggage. Rooms are small and clean with some rooms having private washing facilities, however if you do not the washrooms are located in the hall. There is internet service but somewhat iffy at times and no tv in room, then again we weren't at the room very often. The staff was gracious, helpful and friendly. I enjoyed breakfast in the Blue room.

Location is convenient to tram stop and hotel is also near Rembrandtplein and museum quarter. Also, all around the hotel are cafes, restaurants and shops.

Simple, clean and basic - a great value in Amsterdam and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gap09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We chose the Prinsenhof because of location, historical significance and price, and we'd recommend it for all three and more. We arrived in AMS at 7am and took a train to Centraal Station and tram #4 to the Prinsenhof, arriving before 10am. We had planned to leave our suitcases and check in after a day of sightseeing, but we were shown to our room which was already clean and ready. The carpet on the stairs and in our room looked and smelled fresh and new, our room (1A) had a private bath and overlooked the canal. Bathroom, shower and linens were sparkling clean. Buffet breakfast was simple but good: real oj, boiled egg, toast, meat and cheese, and jams, pb and honey. Again, breakfast room was very clean, pleasant and had a view of rooftops behind. Pure old world charm. Yes, rooms are small and narrow, but that's the way canal houses are built. We walked everywhere from the Prinsenhof. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ontheroadalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel Prinsenhof for four nights and loved walking out the front door and seeing the canal. My room was small but clean and comfortable. Don't expect a lot of amenities, but the staff will take good care of you. They were helpful and friendly and answered any questions I had. The stairs are steep, so pack lightly! The location was perfect--it's within easy walking distance of the Waterlooplein street market and there are several cafes in the vicinity. The closest tram stop is only a few blocks away. If you don't mind walking, you can easily get to the Museumplein and shopping. The internet connection was unreliable, which was frustrating. The breakfast each morning was great and I finally saw the cat on day four!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurpleRabbit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Multi-level less expensive hotel. Not bad value for price. Very small stairs with no elevator and rooms on multi-levels. Not a lot offered at breakfast. Very helpful, and friendly staff. No private bathrooms, all shared bath.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for €89 for 2 people including breakfast. It was a pleasant stay with a clean room right in the heart of Amsterdam on the 'nicer' half of the city. There was no tv in the room or toiletries provided but for the price in Amsterdam it was good value and the people were friendly. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for wheelchair users, lots of very steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel123003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#172 of 373 in Amsterdam
460 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#97 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 338 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 338 in Amsterdam
223 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#26 of 338 in Amsterdam
787 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#59 of 338 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £87 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Prinsenhof 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing