We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
103
120
38
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
120
38
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopsloped roofsteep stairsfree wifi connectiontwin roomsmall hotelmini breakfamily roomeuros per personstayed one nighttop floorcouple of nightsthird floorbooked this hotelprinsengrachtcanalutrechtsestraat
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Location was really good, not the most touristic area, but walking distance to centrum, tram stop and metrostation. The room was basic, but clean with nice views. We had shared bathroom but it was ok. The atmosphere was more like visiting someones home than staying at hostel/hotel. The breakfast was good, with two kinds of bread, eggs, different kinds of cold cuts, tomato, cereal, juice, coffee/tea etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you are able to navigate about 5 steps up the door, 17 steps up to the first floor, another 15 steps up to the second floor (that's where our room was) , with about 15 kilos of luggage on one hand and the other holding on to the railing just in case your sideways step doesn't slide off the very narrow steps (I wear a size 36 shoes), congratulations - you've made it to your room! After 3 days, your challenge is going down, sadly this time, your luggage a tad heavier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The room assigned to us hadnt been properly cleaned (used sheets), electric light switch came off in my hand, staff friendly but didn't help with luggage...but otherwise pleasant and well-located hotel but in need of refurbishing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Entrance of hotel is very small, narrow as well as lots of stairs and steep before you reach the first landing, so pack light. They have a wench system to move luggage however, our group did not use. Rooms are located on several floors, so more walking and hauling of luggage. Rooms are small and clean with some rooms having private washing facilities, however if you do not the washrooms are located in the hall. There is internet service but somewhat iffy at times and no tv in room, then again we weren't at the room very often. The staff was gracious, helpful and friendly. I enjoyed breakfast in the Blue room.

Location is convenient to tram stop and hotel is also near Rembrandtplein and museum quarter. Also, all around the hotel are cafes, restaurants and shops.

Simple, clean and basic - a great value in Amsterdam and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gap09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We chose the Prinsenhof because of location, historical significance and price, and we'd recommend it for all three and more. We arrived in AMS at 7am and took a train to Centraal Station and tram #4 to the Prinsenhof, arriving before 10am. We had planned to leave our suitcases and check in after a day of sightseeing, but we were shown to our room which was already clean and ready. The carpet on the stairs and in our room looked and smelled fresh and new, our room (1A) had a private bath and overlooked the canal. Bathroom, shower and linens were sparkling clean. Buffet breakfast was simple but good: real oj, boiled egg, toast, meat and cheese, and jams, pb and honey. Again, breakfast room was very clean, pleasant and had a view of rooftops behind. Pure old world charm. Yes, rooms are small and narrow, but that's the way canal houses are built. We walked everywhere from the Prinsenhof. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ontheroadalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews