We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice to stay in Asterdam city!”
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Ranked #46 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is great. I stayed two nights in a single room with sh. bathroom The location is perfect (just 15-20 min of lovely walk to the center and next to a public transp. stop) with lovely view of a canal, a peacefull neighbourhood with nice restaurants and cafes. The stuff of the hotel is very nice, and they keep the place clean and smelling great (even the share bathrooms). The room was small but comfy, with great views. There are several bathrooms to share, never got a problem waiting to use them. Breakfast is complete and nicely presented, leave you full and satisfied in a kitchen area quite relaxing. I recommend it 100%. And it will be the place to stay in my next visit to amsterdam (alone or with company)!

Room Tip: room on the 3rd floor are high to climb (as all houses in amsterdam) but quiet. Room 4 has views of...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gondolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Prinsenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Please do not trust the previous comments written in this website.
Positive points: the position in the heart of Amsterdam.
Negative points: the hotel is very very noisy. It's impossible to sleep, because of the continous noises coming from the other rooms and the stairs. Breakfast is nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My friend and i stayed in a shared-bathroom room for three marvelous nights. The beds were comfortable, the view overlooking a beautiful canal, and the location (right next to a tram stop) unbeatable. The bathroom was one floor down from us, but there was a toilet right outside our room. The breakfast was delicious (a cappuccino machine - mmm!) and the staff warm, accommodating, and considerate. Excellent value for such a great place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziemcmizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Recently stayed here for a second time (after a 15 year interval). All was just as I remembered. Our room this time was #10 the attic room and it was perfect. There was a sink ensuite and a shared bathroom (though we never saw a soul) just outside the door. Generous breakfast included and also two "drinking excuses" in our room upon arrival (coupons for free drink at the bar downstairs on the corner). Within an easy walk to transport. Love the luggage lift! If you want to save some $ and see something local instead of America in Europe, do choose Prisenhof.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whenimaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We wanted to have a budget city weekend break and first looked at hostels. But the reviews for what you find centrally located were generally poor. You pay slightly more here compared to a hostel but includes breakfast and given the great location makes it an ideal option. It ain't a 5 star hotel and doesn't in any way purport to be. But the price, location and excellent breakfast make it an ideal option.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Sorry, but whoever is complaining about this place is insane! You pay what 35 quid pp a night and it's an authentic town house in amsterdam with breakfast. Independent hotel and amazing for the money. Its just basic, clean and I am super fussy about hotels. It isn't a 5* boutique hotel, but if you want authentic amsterdam then go for it! Staff are pretty friendly, I think the other people must have just annoyed them that are complaining! Also free wifi now which is fab :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Javshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Location was really good, not the most touristic area, but walking distance to centrum, tram stop and metrostation. The room was basic, but clean with nice views. We had shared bathroom but it was ok. The atmosphere was more like visiting someones home than staying at hostel/hotel. The breakfast was good, with two kinds of bread, eggs, different kinds of cold cuts, tomato, cereal, juice, coffee/tea etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#28 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#57 of 337 in Amsterdam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#23 of 238 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#73 of 337 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £100 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing