We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient place to stay”
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Ranked #37 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient place to stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I quite enjoyed my stay at the Prinsenhof. I have been to Amsterdam too many times to count, but I have not spent much time in the Rembrandtplein area and decided on my most recent trip that this area had to be investigated. The Prinsenhof is located quite close and was convenient to striking out to other parts of the city. Breakfasts were quite good and the staff friendly. Very satisfied!

Room Tip: Stairs can be quite steep at the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    115
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
106
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were greeted by an enthusiastic woman who could not have made us feel more welcome. The rooms where very nice and bathrooms modern, and clean. There is off street secured parking. Brugge is a delight. It was my first trip and I will go back when I can stay longer.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are "off of the courtyard". The courtyard is where the cars park. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolpanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Prinsenhof hotel was a hotel that I will never forget. Our porter welcomed us with the funniest way of opening a door ever; he pulled it up with a rope, sitting at the top of a really steep staircase, with a teasing sweet smile. The room was clean, pretty and quiet (except for the neighbors walking around). breakfast wasn't quite good, but there was a good mood -(our host played happy jazz)
Our host also helped us with our boarding passes. :) One incidence was unfortunate; our porter (or his friend?) smoked a lot of hash one day, we had to open both windows because it smelled so bad!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very small hotel, may be not very convenient for some people but very charming and the staff was great. The location was very good, away from the hustle bustle of the centre but still within walking distance to the centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez_Bap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We arrived to be whisked into a back room with scaffolding outside the windows and workmen in boots working on the room above. No mention of this at booking.
Cigarette smoke seemed to be somehow wafting into our room from below??? even though the hotel is supposed to be non smoking.
The noise of workboots woke us next morning at 8 am.
We were paying 95 euros per night. The room was small, spartan and completely lacking in character and feeling. Were it not for the location and the fact that it was a busy time in Amsterdam we would have moved to another hotel.
When we requested a room change for our second night the response - It's Friday 13th - ie.bad luck!
great customer empathy.
We stayed here over 10 years ago and a cheerful woman greeted us for breakfast. We had a positive feeling about this place on that stay. The breakfast is now self serve.
We won't be giving this place another try nor will we be buying the lonely planet guide which rated it "honest value". Travel experiences educate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I agree with one of the previous comments that some people are overrating this hotel. The staff were nice and welcoming and the location decent, but.. it was extremely noisy. Traffic outside and paperthin walls made it difficult to sleep. The beds were also hard. I didn't have a problem sharing bathroom facilities and the radiators were on to the max, but no way will that price retain customers considering how noisy it was.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel a weekend in November, nice and cozy, nice rooms. A bit pricy. 75€ pr night. Good transport connections with the nr4 tram running outside. The rooms have good heating, but only single glazed windows make it a noisy experience!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Håkon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
750 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#55 of 336 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#79 of 336 in Amsterdam
37 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#29 of 336 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#24 of 234 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Property: Prinsenhof
Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing