We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Keizershof
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
202
92
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
92
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrita hayworthcanal housejohn wayne roomthird floortop flooryogurteach morningwonderful hospitalityfriendly hostsgarden roomwithin walking distanceflights of stairsbreakfast is servedwonderful cityspent nightsfantastic staywonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in March 2011. We were met by the owner who welcomed us to her home. So this is not the usual faceless international hotel but rooms in a 17th century canalhouse. You have a front-door key; you join other guests at the long table for breakfast. There is a good range of the usual meats, fresh fruit, cereals etc and you will be asked if you want an omelette or pancakes. We had a first floor room at the back of the house and ours was the only room on that staircase. The room, which had an old fireplace with Delft tiles, was homely rather than slick. We liked this and would stay again. The room had a shower cabinet and the lavatory, which only we used, was just outside the door. Yes, the spiral staircase is steep and narrow but remember this is a conserved 400-year-old house that, because of the tax laws, was built to be narrow-fronted.
The museum plain is just a few blocks behind the hotel and we liked being away from the noise of Dam Square. There is a great restaurant at the end of the street. It has no name, no menu and only does steak or salad. It may look forbiddingly expensive but a whole lobster, great chips (fries) and well-dressed salad at about 21 euros was good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flaneur47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Unbeatable location, impeccable cleanliness and a copious, healthy breakfast (omelets plus eat all else you want) included in the fare distinguish this family run hotel from any other in Amsterdam. Owner Mary is here the grand, no-nonsense Matriarch, who is ever present, ever helpful.

Location and breakfast lend this hotel (starting, realistically speaking, at about a hundred Euros for a couple, to be paid in cash) its exceptional value: Most attractions are literally within less than fifteen minutes walk, and the breakfast will save you big bucks on eating out.

Though the house itself is one of the grand mansions that line the Keizersgracht, the hotel rooms, which occupy only the third and fourth floors, are nondescript simple, have no telephones, yet are exceptionally light and clean.

But don't come with the intention to party here, and, if your luggage is heavy or cumbersome, make sure you have enough muscle to lug it up some steep stairs.

One small suggestion for the owners: invest in heavier carpets, essential in this old house where noise travels easily from room to room. Our upstairs neighbor was heavy footed and an early riser, which meant we really couldn't sleep beyond 7:00.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EGN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We arrived at 12:30PM and were greeted by the owners with a warm smile. We were informed we should take our luggage up to our room and come down whenever we were ready to register. Our room (Charlie Chaplin) was very clean, large and cheerfully decorated. We had a shower/sink in our room (with blow dryer) and shared a toilet in the hall. Our internet signal was weak according to our laptops but we had no problems using the Wi-Fi in our room...fabulous! But, in case the signal is not good, there is a wonderful living room with comfortable couch and chairs and you should have no problems. Our host and her daughter and helper continued to be gracious and start us off each morning with a full breakfast (realize this value). You might be greeted by the host two cats. There was enough good food to last us all day. Outside of carrying up our luggage to the 3rd floor (spiral stairways) it was a wonderful place to stay. The location is very good too!! We could hear some noise from the street below but not much-nothing worth keeping you away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mroterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The owners of Hotel Keizershof, the De Vries familiy, are absolutely wonderful. At their hotel, you aren't just a guest, you feel as if you are staying with old friends. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast, but that is how I would categorize this hotel. Upon arrival they gave me some tips about the area, made me feel right at home, yet I came and went as I pleased.

My room was on the 1st floor with it's own staircase, so I didn't have to carry my suitcase too far. It overlooked the garden and although my stay was during the winter, I can only imagine how much more charming it will look in spring and summer. The room even had a beautiful antique fireplace with old delft tiles and it felt quite roomy. Although the amenities were basic, there was a tea pot in the room, the room/bathroom were clean, the bed was super comfortable, and they even had free wireless. Perhaps my favorite part was the amazing breakfast they served, I had a hard time believing it was all for the guests. If only the food in America was this good!

The hotel is centrally located on a beautiful quiet canal. The tram stops right off of the street, so it's easy to get to from Central Station. Whether you want to walk to Dam square, go to the Van Gogh museum, or the Anne Frank House, they are easily accessible from the hotel.

If I get to come back to Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ziggidyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Enjoyed our stay here. Our room was up on the 3rd floor with a gorgeous view of the canal. The spiral staircase to get there was tight and difficult to climb with luggage, but worth it! The room was comfortable and cozy with a very clean bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic and included and the host was most generous. She gave us museum passes to use that other guests had left after their stay - saved us at least 40euros each! The location is also perfect - within walking distance of all sights and close to the tram that gets you to central station.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portland_and_beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews