We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #165 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed at the Kaizershof for a couple of days and then came back a week later. We found Ernest and Anika to be very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant suggestions. Stayed in the John Wayne room - only one with it's own toilet. Very roomy and comfrotable. Quite a hike up the stairs but that gave us the exercise to have another glass of wine. Amsterdam is quite expensive and we found the accommodations to be reasonably priced. Walking distance to everything but in a quieter area.
Jack & TOni

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_morkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this very friendly establishment. Our room on the 3rd floor looked out onto a beautiful garden, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, there was a sink in the room and TV and the breakfast was AMAZING (more on that below). If we had more money, we would have stayed in the room with the private bath (I think it was 130 euros a night), but the bathroom was just a few steps from our door and the shower was literally right next door to our room (the garden room at 90 euros/night). In 5 nights we were only aware of sound from another room once and it was hardly audible. The street that this small hotel is on is very quiet. The 80 euros a night room overlooked the canal and would have been nice, but it was booked when we were there. Wifi is available but you have to be downstairs in the sitting room (which is a nice place to hang out) and Ernest will give you the computer password. The tram to almost everywhere was 1/2 block away (7 euros for an all day ticket was well worth it - buy it on board the tram)
The family was incredibly friendly and helpful, there was a small quiet dog (no problem - only saw it twice in 6 days), and Ernest's mother is a dynamo and excellent cook and hostess.
Now, the breakfast! If the room seemed expensive to me (it actually wasn't when compared to other high ranking hotels on Tripadvisor), the feast of a breakfast made the stay a real bargain. There were cereals, the best yogurt I ever tasted, dried fruit, often fresh fruit, cookies, pastries and sometimes cake, a wide array of cheeses (also delicious gouda, of course), a wide variety of breads and jams, tomato and mozzarella cheese with fresh basil salad, and an individually cooked omelet or Dutch pancake. But the best part of the breakfast was the absolutely delicious coffee served with hot milk. It ruined me for drinking any other coffee in Amsterdam.
P.S. The stairs weren't that bed, but there are three floors of stairs. I always took a short breather on the second landing.

Room Tip: The 4 different rooms I saw all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed in the Charlie Chaplin room that overlooked the canal. Take the trolley car from the train station. Very easy to get to and in a great location. The included breakfast was fantastic. The two resident cats are friendly, but a little shy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We were in the middle of Amsterdam with easy bus access and a fairly short bus ride from the train station. Walking distance to Anne Frank House and VanGough Museum. Friendly and helpful with directions and even sent my daughter's forgotten text book back to us. Great morning breakfast that was the best we had on our 3 week journey! Loved being in the middle of it all, but also clean and quiet at night with a beautiful view of the homes back garden. We did fine with hauling our suitcase up the stairs, which is three flights. Even met some other guests at morning breakfast, which was really nice. I will definately stay again when I am in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginiahilllcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This is a lovely, quaint little hotel, well situated on a canal, within walking distance to almost anything in Amsterdam.
I stayed here from April 1st to 5th with a friend. We had the rather spacious "Rita Hayworth" room, with a view of the garden, our own private facilities, very clean, and the breakfast served family style downstairs was just splendid. Add the very friendly owners and decent price, what more can you want? Perhaps a lift ... :-) The 49 steps were a bit daunting but manageable. Never forget, it's like stepping into a bit of history.
I thoroughly recommend this place and plan to come back before I'm much older ...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skye2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel has a very good location, at a walking distance from many places of interest. The owners are very pleasant, the room is clean, and the price is correct.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cric72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Well, Keizershof Hotel is a family run "hotel". You stay at Mary's (the owner) house, who will make her best to help, advice, and provide you a good stay. What a nice person!
I've stayed on the top floor, John Waiyne room, which is very large and confortable - you'll find a fridge and a LCD TV. The breakfast is also very good and the location is excelent.
Prepare your legs for a big walk upstairs. It worth it!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lagartinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,094 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#301 of 375 in Amsterdam
597 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#147 of 375 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Centre East
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,477 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £132 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing