We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what I was looking for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #146 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Minden, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was looking for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel Keizershof was exactly the lodging in Amsterdam I was looking for. From a prior visit, I longed to see what one of those lovely old Amsterdam houses was like on the inside. And K. is exactly that. One enters the seven-story building through a fine old door at the ground floor, proceeds through a marble-floored hall (and on to a cozy, modern kitchen and dining area and adjacent living room if you go that far) to the STAIRWAY, a fantastic narrow, wooden spiral stairway that will take you up four flights, if you let it. Just beautiful, but not for the faint of heart. We got off on the 4th floor, found our room from among the four there, engaged key in lock, swung open the door, and were presented with a beautiful room, large, very clean, with a whole wall of windows looking out to the canal and street and all the fascinating architecture across the way. What a breath of fresh air, coming as we were from our “closet” of a room in Paris that day! We even had fresh-cut flowers and little chocolate Easter eggs. The bed was big and comfortable and clean, there was a TV, sitting chairs, table, chest-of-drawers and closet, and coffee in the room. Our room had a bathroom consisting of a sink and shower. We used the toilet facilities in the hall, which was not a problem—we were the only ones to use it. Let me reiterate, every thing is very clean. The room was quiet with no problematic street noise, and the hotel itself was very quiet. The breakfasts prepared by Mary and her son were excellent and abundant in a convivial setting with the other guests. Mary’s gracious nature is evident everywhere; she chats with guests if they want to, offers advice to local spots, and makes her place feel welcoming with may extra touches. K. is very well located and we walked everywhere we wanted to go. Although located in a quiet neighborhood, it is near restaurants, shops, groceries, museums, parks. The only time we took a short bus trip was to and from the train station. I would refer this hotel to anyone. It was a lovely experience and I wish I were there now.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkoMinden_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
153
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in the John Wayne room, the room was very large and comfortable. There is wi-fi on the first floor and you are in walking distance of most of the "attractions" about 15 to 20 minutes. Breakfast is included and that was an added plus. As everyone has said, the stairs are a killer! If I would have stayed a few mores days I could have been in Olympic shape. My only con is that there internet is only on the first floor and that the windows don't have mosquito coverings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSV1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked this B & B at the start of our fairly lengthy European trip on the basis of the comments on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The room was spacious and very clean, the breakfast spread was wonderful, fresh orange juice, tea or coffee,a great variety of cereals, yoghurts, breads, spreads, fruit, cheeses, cold cuts,cakes and biscuits and to top it off an omelette or any other sort of eggs you liked. The breakfast room is cosy with everyone sitting at the same table so a nice opportunity to chat to other travellers from different parts of the world.
The whole family made everyone feel at home and were helpful with advice and suggestions without being intrusive. We enjoyed it so much we booked again for later in June at the end of our trip and it was like coming home as we were greeted very warmly as returning guests.
As others have mentioned the stairs could be a problem if you are a little infirm or if you travel with a huge suitcase.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back, no trouble with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducktales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights after three weeks in Eastern Turkey. We were interested in resting and visiting museums. The Hotel Keizershof was an excellent choice for us because we do not use the typical amenities such as pools and hotel restaurants that are common to most large establishments.

The family was helpful and gracious while not intrusive. We had a key to the front door allowing us to schedule our own time. This point was important to us as we were tired from our earlier travels and returned to the hotel each afternoon to rest.

The breakfast was excellent and the room was spacious, had large windows that opened to the canal and was quiet. The hotel was centrally located with easy access from the airport and to museums and restaurants.

The stairs are steep and narrow but we left our medium sized suitcases in a locker at the airport and took only our daypacks and a small duffel bag to the hotel. Because our stay was short this was an excellent option for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in June, 2011. THe owner (don't remember his name) was very helpful, and gave us advice as to where to go, what to do, etc.. The room was quite a hike up the steep stairs (i think it was like 4 floors up), and we had the Charlie Chaplin room which was overlooking the canal. The hotel was very close to everything in Amsterdam, yet away from the tourist hustle and bustle. Breakfast was awesome, full spread of breads, cheeses, jams, yogurts with toppings, fruit, cookies, and he also made us yummy pancakes. I would definitely stay here again! :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed at the Kaizershof for a couple of days and then came back a week later. We found Ernest and Anika to be very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant suggestions. Stayed in the John Wayne room - only one with it's own toilet. Very roomy and comfrotable. Quite a hike up the stairs but that gave us the exercise to have another glass of wine. Amsterdam is quite expensive and we found the accommodations to be reasonably priced. Walking distance to everything but in a quieter area.
Jack & TOni

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_morkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this very friendly establishment. Our room on the 3rd floor looked out onto a beautiful garden, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, there was a sink in the room and TV and the breakfast was AMAZING (more on that below). If we had more money, we would have stayed in the room with the private bath (I think it was 130 euros a night), but the bathroom was just a few steps from our door and the shower was literally right next door to our room (the garden room at 90 euros/night). In 5 nights we were only aware of sound from another room once and it was hardly audible. The street that this small hotel is on is very quiet. The 80 euros a night room overlooked the canal and would have been nice, but it was booked when we were there. Wifi is available but you have to be downstairs in the sitting room (which is a nice place to hang out) and Ernest will give you the computer password. The tram to almost everywhere was 1/2 block away (7 euros for an all day ticket was well worth it - buy it on board the tram)
The family was incredibly friendly and helpful, there was a small quiet dog (no problem - only saw it twice in 6 days), and Ernest's mother is a dynamo and excellent cook and hostess.
Now, the breakfast! If the room seemed expensive to me (it actually wasn't when compared to other high ranking hotels on Tripadvisor), the feast of a breakfast made the stay a real bargain. There were cereals, the best yogurt I ever tasted, dried fruit, often fresh fruit, cookies, pastries and sometimes cake, a wide array of cheeses (also delicious gouda, of course), a wide variety of breads and jams, tomato and mozzarella cheese with fresh basil salad, and an individually cooked omelet or Dutch pancake. But the best part of the breakfast was the absolutely delicious coffee served with hot milk. It ruined me for drinking any other coffee in Amsterdam.
P.S. The stairs weren't that bed, but there are three floors of stairs. I always took a short breather on the second landing.

Room Tip: The 4 different rooms I saw all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#93 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing