We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In Amsterdam for a conference, the Hotel Keizershof was in walking distance of the Leinsplein”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #146 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“In Amsterdam for a conference, the Hotel Keizershof was in walking distance of the Leinsplein”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I read the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor before making my 4 night reservation. Everything people have reported about the warm and wonderful hospitality of the Dvries Family is absolutely true. At breakfast guests gather at the long communal table to share stories while enjoying a filling traditional Dutch breakfast of homemade breads, cheese, pastries/cakes, all sorts of cereals, fruits and eggs and Dutch pancakes (like crepes). The hotel has wireless Internet, but only in certain places and one such place is the breakfast room, where the guests often check their emails while getting local advice from Ernest and Mary. This is like a home away from from home.

Room Tip: My room, the John Wayne room (the rooms are named after movie stars) was on the top floor and faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
153
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My sister and I spent 6 nights at Hotel Keizershof and had an amazing time! Ernest and his mom, Mary, were outstanding hosts and never once made us feel as if we were imposing on them, answering questions and making us feel right at home. Breakfasts were truly amazing and more than we ever expected. Everyone there offered us directions and suggestions on where to eat (away from all the other tourists), what to see and do, and how to get there. We stayed in the Marlene Dietrick room and it was perfect for the two of us. Very comfortable, clean and we even had a bouquet of tulips in our room the second day we were there. You won't be disappointed if you chose Hotel Keizershof. I will recommend them to all of my friends and family traveling to Amsterdam and will definitely stay there again if my travels take me back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Checked out of the Hotel Keizershof this morning - my man and I stayed there three nights in the Charlie Chapline room. It was on the third floor of the hotel, overlooking the canal. The room was quite large for a European hotel - it had a small settee, two twin beds pushed together to form a king, a small table and dresser and easily still enough room to spread out a yoga mat if I'd had the inclination. The room had an ensuite shower and sink, the toilet was a shared one located in the hall adjacent to the room which i got used to with no issues. Hairdryer was this peculiar vacuum-style wall hanging apparatus which I thought must be ancient, but by the end of the stay wished I had at home - quiet and effective. The room was immaculately clean, the bed was comfy, the stairs were a good workout.

The hotel is very easy to find and is located in the best possible spot - easy walking distance to all the Amsterdam action and museums, but situated along a quiet and safe canal.

So, it's a great place to stay and I'm sure this review sounds much like all the rest. But my favorite part of the stay had little to do with the amenities or the location. The hotel is much like a B&B. The sumptuous breakfasts were held at a communal table so introverted me got a chance to meet many of the other guests, hear about their experiences and travels. Bizarre, but all the guests aside from us were American - likely fresh from reading Rick Steve's recommendation of the hotel (there's a photo of Rick visiting the hotel owners mounted in the ground floor hallway) - and there is no one more friendly than an American...with the possible exception of Hotel Keizershof's gregarious hosts. We got fabulous advice ranging from from jet lag strategies to restaurant recommendations to how to avoid Paris pick pockets.

If you're looking for a relatively quiet, extremely welcoming and sociable place to stay, I highly recommend Hotel Keizershof.

Room Tip: Quietest room will be towards the back, but with the windows closed, we weren't disturbed even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OotyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, wy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at Hotel Keizershof. We came to Amsterdam for the art museums and the tulips, both of which were incredible. But it was our stay at Hotel Keizershof that we both agreed was the highlight. The breakfast each morning, talking with the other guests, getting tips from the Hotel owners on what to do and where to eat, and the back yard garden made it such a wonderful experience. We loved our room - Mae West - and the view out our window, especially at night, was intoxicating. We opened a bottle of wine and soaked it in. Close to everything, we walked to everything we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tornportraits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My fifth trip to Amsterdam and forth stay at the Hotel Keizershof on the Keizersgracht in Central city. It is convenient to everything. clean and comfortable, and reasonably priced. Several rooms have canal views, but I stayed in the room with a view of their lovely quiet garden. Best of all you have a breakfast each morning prepared by one of the family, and sit with an international group around the breakfast table. Hanneke brings you hot, fresh coffee and Mary fixes an omelet. Fresh baked bread, fresh fruit, and fresh juice. This morning I met a couple from Brazil, another from France, and a third are Italian but live in Ireland. Some are going to museums today, some to shop, all withing walking distance. Who knows who I'll meet over breakfast the next time I'm here?

Room Tip: I stayed in Roufge last night, spacious and quiet with its own bathroom. Usually I stay in Mae West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedrosocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had some slight trouble looking for the trams from Centraal station to Keizergracht but we managed to find the hotel. Had to ring the bell a couple of times, even went to ring the door upstairs which I've found out it wasn't connected to the hotel.
Was welcomed by one of the owner. Stairs were quite steep going to our room. Room was spacious and lovely.

Had recommendations from them to try Walem for lunch which we did. Breakfast was truly sublime with a lot of food to choose from. Their omelettes are made when requested.
Will book with this hotel again should I decide to come back to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yb_silvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights from Sat to Mon recently. We found the hotel clean and ideally situated to access all the sights. In a quieter area of the city, but near to two different tram stops, this hotel offers everything the traveller would need.
The owners are courteous,but not over friendly, the breakfast is comprehensive with home made bread and cakes, fresh fruit salad and many varieties of cheese. You also have the option of a herb omelette, which I would recommend. You should also try the Stroop Wafels...delicious.
The rooms have everything you need and are cleaned on a daily basis. We had the room on the topmost floor overlooking the garden which was peaceful and quiet. The only downside to be aware of is the stairs, already mentioned on this site many times. It is 60 very steep and narrow stairs to the top floor, not to be undertaken by the feint hearted! It certainly helps to burn off those breakfasts!
My only issue would be the shower; hard to get any more than a drizzle from the hand held shower head, made rinsing shampoo long and tedious. Also difficult to get the water temperature right.

Room Tip: John Wayne room is on top floor (60 stairs to top) and overlooks the garden. Very spacious and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexgal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#93 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing