We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Great Time at Hotel Keizershof”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #144 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Great Time at Hotel Keizershof”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Hotel Keizershof on our recent trip to Amsterdam. It was wonderful. The room was clean and charming. Our room overlooked the beautiful garden. Mary, Ernest and Anika treated us like one of the family, sharing ideas on where to go what to see. We really felt the Dutch hospitality. I would strongly recommend the Hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
154
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stayed there in May. The location, hotel , and hosts are top notch. The breakfast was amazing. Mary, Ernest , and Anika are wonderful people who are genuinely hospitable. The rooms are beutiful and very spaceous. We wont stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThomasM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I used trip adviser as a source for booking this hotel & what a great experience.
We arrived early in the morning after a 20 hour trip from Oz. Ernst greeted us with warmth & insisted we have coffee etc even if the room wasn't available for 5 hours.
Over the next 4 nights we found nothing to complain about apart from the continual rain. Mary, Ernest and Anika made us feel very welcome, the negative was the steep stairs to the room, we managed OK but if you have any mobility issues Beware.
We would stay here again in Amsterdam, central to the City & the Rijksmuseum etc

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and were really excited to go. The location of the hotel was great as it was walkable distance to the main tourist area.

We were placed in the Marlene Dietrich room which was on the third floor above several spiral staircases.Walking up the stairs was fine for us but those with physical conditions may want to consider requesting a room on a lower level. The room itself was very clean and a good size. We had to share the toilet and shower with other rooms but there was never any issue when I needed to use them. The room we were in contained two single beds pushed together instead of one double bed. The gap between the beds may be a safety hazard for couples who enjoy sleeping close to each other. We were also never able to get the wifi working in our room so we'd often have to bring our phones to breakfast to check our email.

The owners were really nice and Mary recommended a very good restaurant to us the first day we were there. Breakfast was also good and Mary always made us fresh omelets.

My only reservation for going back is that they didn't seem too happy to take our credit card even though it was chosen as the method of payment when we booked the hotel. When we were checking out they said that they only take cash and we had to remind them that the original email said it was fine paying by credit so long as we accept a 5% surcharge. When we did pay, the owners seemed annoyed that we were paying by credit at all. This is definitely something that we take into account when choosing hotels as we are not comfortable carrying large amounts of cash with us especially since Amsterdam was one stop of several cities we visited. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much and the hotel was very good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank acneball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at The Keizerhof Hotel a week or so ago. What a find!! Wonderful breakfasts, gracious hosts, Mary, Ernest and Anika made us feel very welcome. Ernest's fresh made bread in the morning was a real treat and when we wanted local knowledge on places to go, Anika was better than any tour guide. We loved the one long table where we discovered our fellow guests from all over the world.

Our room, up 4 flights of stairs was very large and comfortable with a very nice ensuite and great view of the beautiful gardens.

Would definitely stay again, and again, and again!!!

2 Aussies

Room Tip: There is 4 floors of spiral staircase but our hosts helped with the cases and the room was worth eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benbobby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I can only agree with others fabulous reviews and would like to add a big thankyou to mary,ernest and hanneke for a making us so welcome in their lovely home. their genuine kindness and hospitality made our visit so special . they recommended some lovely 'local' eateries and bars & places to see . I am celiac and Ernest had provided gluten free breads and biscuits ready for me ,which was so unexpected and very much appreciated and enjoyed! thankyou!!!!! breakfasts were extreemly plentiful including fresh fruits home made breads freshly cooked pancakes and omelletes> clean ,comfortable and within easy walking distance of bars restaurants and attractions. . I have already recommended this little gem to friends and family and would recommend wholeheatedly and will definately stay here next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Ideal location with easy access to museums, canal boats and trams away from the crowds and noise of downtown. Home baked bread, cakes and crepes are highlights. Mary will make you an omelette unless you tell her not to.Charming canal house with warm inviting breakfast room and garden. We had the Marlene Dietrich room on 3d floor, two beds, a sink, a wardrobe, garden view, next to he communal shower and 6 steps from the communal bathroom. We never had any trouble with access to the bathroom or shower. The only bad news is that to get to the room you need to climb 49 narrow, spiral stairs in 3 courses. If you have bad knees or mobility problems, you should reconsider this hotel. If not, you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#201 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#198 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#80 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#120 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing