We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Dutch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #146 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Dutch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

We found Hotel Keizershof in the Rick Steves guidebook, and based on his review (and the reviews on this site) we gave it a shot. A word up front (something to be aware of): this is a cash only establishment. Fortunately it is inexpensive enough that this isn't a problem.

It is a family run hotel (more of a B&B, really), and everyone is friendly, kind, and courteous. The room was clean and spacious and the view of the city was pleasant. We stayed for more than five days, so we were given a discount on the room of (two bedroom en suite dropped from 115 euro a night to 100 euro a night). The breakfasts included fresh fruit, bread, and cheese, and a very tasty omelette each morning.

It is conveniently located next to a tram line (fourth stop from Centraal on the 16, 24, 25 trams) and a block from a grocery store. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Rijksmusem and the Van Gogh Museum, and 5 to 10 minutes from the Leidesplein.

When I travel to Amsterdam in the future I will be sure to stay in the Hotel Keizershof

  • Liked — The breakfasts and friendly attitudes.
  • Disliked — The stairs. It is a canal house, so there are a lot of stairs.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Isladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
153
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

This hotel was conveniently located in the canal district of Amsterdam. It is an old canal house complete with spiral wooden staircase, not easy to manoevre with big suitcases.
The room was clean and airy and the bathroom spacious. Shower had to be held by hand.
Breakfasts were big with the same omlet offered every day, (herb) but choices of cereal, breads, fruit salad and cakes. Only room for 10 or so at the table, so wait your turn if you arrive later.
Hospitality was sporadic with the hostess sometimes very friendly and at other times distinctly not so. We ran out of tea bags, then milk then sugar in our room having more than one cup each per day, and came down the 5 storeys to get refills from her. She was fine at first but then begrudgingly allowed us a handful. Left a note for the maid to refill one or all of these and explained that we had gone to get some ourselves several times, whereupon she left us nothing, just 2 dirty cups!
Would I stay there again? Probably not. I prefer a consistently postive interaction with the owners.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — interactions with owner
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2007

We were very excited when we found the review and information on the hotel. It sounded very historic, in a good location and that people enjoyed staying there b/c of the great breakfast and great hospitality. Unfortunately, this was not our experience at all. My boyfriend and I were travelling Europe, it was his first time, my upteenth..or so. The hotel was as expected. We were warned about the stairs and the travel up, so i did't expect to have any help or warning with that, but the stairs are very narrow and steep, so travel light, or be ready for a strong work out. The rooms were simple, but clean. Our problem was upon our arrival. The problems started when we first came to hotel - we had told them we would be there at about 10 am after getting through customs, etc and getting a ride from the airport. This was our first stop on our trip as well, so we were very jetlagged and tired. When she answered the door, it was as if we were putting her out, she did not seem happy to see us and told us our room was not ready (even though my email confirmation said it would be upon us coming at 10am). She said it woudl be ready in an hour and we were fine with that and did a quick tour at the Anne Frank House. We came back and took a nap. When we left that nite, i just happened to notice that the room said it was 100 Euro a nite, instead of the 80 we were promised in the email i had. I brought this up to the lady and she said 'oh you are in teh wrong room, we will have to switch you tomorrow'. i asked her why we could not switch thena nd she said our room was taken. i said well i am not goign to pay full price and she said yes you are b/c you just told me....it was still the same day and i did not think this was fair. Then we made the mistake of asking her where the 'bull dog' is. we were told it was a good place to go eat and instead it is actually a 'coffee shop'. we did not know this and she started to yell at me saying there is no smokin in the hotel and that is a place to get Marijuana. i assured her that we were not there to do drugs and just were told it was a place to eat and if she had a better palce in mind. she just said 'just go in that direction and you find something'. not very friendly or the kind of advice we were expecting. the next morning we came down for breakfast but were told our other room was not ready, so we needed to take a nap and told her we were goign to do this and her maid siad to just let her know when we were ready to change rooms later and would do this. we took a nap until 2 or so and went down and she said we could no longer exchanage rooms. i asked why and she started to yell at me again saying that her maid was gone and could not switch us. i said we can move our own luggage, etc, and she said that she was not going to do it and started to falsely accuse us of things we were doing in Amsterdam that she did not approve of and that we were goign to give her a heart attack with all our arguing with her. I simply did not say anythign to her!!! i told her it was not our fault for being put in the wrong room after her tantrum, and were not goign to pay full price and we agreed to pay in the middle. we were never offered anything extra at teh breakfast buffet, and when i went down the next morning without my boyfriend, she asked where he was and i said he has jet lag and she said 'yeah, amongst other things'. I was offended that again she was making assumptions and she just slammed my silverware and plates down in front of me and i asked for coffee andshe never brought it, but instead told us to pay her. She was a very rude hostess, not welcoming, and we also had to ask her five times to get us a cab for the airport. We felt like we were staying at our grandmother's house. We are in our mid 30's, not teegagers or partiers. we came to see the sights and did not feel like returning to the hotel except to sleep. buyer beware here, i have never been treated so rudely.

  • Liked — i liked the historical background of the building
  • Disliked — the hospitality and rude service and assumptions of what we were doing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank europefan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

I stayed here with my cousin in March of last year. It was great, I think we had the Rita Hayworth room. It was at the back of the house with our own staircase, we had a toilet upstairs and a private shower/toilet downstairs. The room was huge with a great bed and a huge dresser. We aren't exactly the lightest of packers and we were able to spread out all 4 huge suitcases on the floor easily! The breakfast was excellent, we were the only ones at the table one morning and the owner made us omelets with produce from her garden! There is a great restaurant a few blocks to the left (your back facing the hotel), go early and get the price fix menu.

  • Liked — The room and location.
  • Disliked — I liked everything about this hotel.
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

This was a great place to stay. Our first Europe trip and we just got off the plane and found the Keizershof. We had reserved the room after reading about it in the Rick Steves guide. It was convenient to, I believe, the #24 and 25 streetcars, and there was also an ABM Amro bank on the corner, which was nice when we needed to withdraw money.

The room was spacious and comfortable, with nice extra touches like a hot pot to boil water and an assortment of cocoa and teas to drink. In the rainy and chilly Amsterdam weather, and coming back to the room after a long day, these touches were most welcome. Mary was quite friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were kept very clean. We had a room with a shower, which was fine. I really got that room because I wanted the view overlooking the canal! The view was there and quite nice. The only drawbacks I can think of were the shared bathroom, which I occasionally had to wait for and which sometimes got a little smelly (of urine) at night, but I guess that's to be expected with a shared bathroom; and, if you aren't in decent shape, the stairs could be a little tough to contend with. We are not athletes though, and did fine with them.

One other thing which must be mentioned is the wonderful breakfasts, included in the price of the room. The omelets were amazing, and there was also an assortment of breads, jams, etc. as well as juice and coffee. Mary also has a nice garden in the back.

When you go to Amsterdam, don't forget to visit Haarlem, a short train ride away. A nice quiet nearby town, with lots of shops and restaurants to enjoy. And when I go back to Amsterdam, I will certainly stay at the Keizershof.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LizGinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2006

We stayed here as a family of 5 - mom, dad, 2 teenage age girls and a 12 year old girl. In short, we loved it. It was very much a B&B experience, with Mary alsways there to answer questions or make suggestions.

The climb up the twisting staircase to our rooms in the 16th century canal building was so much more memorbale than a high speed elevator ride would have been. We had a view of their charming courtyard from our room. And it was a pleasure to sit in that courtyard and talk with the owners - Mary and her daughter Annika (sp?).

The rooms were spacious and clean. Breaksfast was lovely. and the location on a quiet canal was perfect.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone seeking a unique experience. We are going back this summer and we're psyched!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

I recently returned from my second stay this year at the Hotel Keizershof. This stay was for 3 nights with my family in one of the rooms on the top floor, overlooking the gardens in the rear (very quiet). The Keizershof is a fantastic dutch B&B experience, with a wonderful family as your hosts. Location is fantastic, with great access to some of the best local dining and other attractions in Amsterdam. The tram stop is also very close to the hotel, 2 minutes walking distance. Stairs are very steep as expected in a canal house, so pack lightly.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing