We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, lots of stairs”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #145 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Location, lots of stairs”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Absolutely fabulous location, close to the museums and great restaurants and far enough away from all the riff raff that keeps Amsterdam from being a truly awesome city. It's 4 stops off the tram from central station or a 13 euro cab, 45 euro to the airport.
Behing the hotel is a beautiful garden that is lovely to sit in after a long day of walking. The Mother and Son who run the place are very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We stayed on the top floor which is a long haul up the spiral stair cases, not for the old, fat or people with heavy bags( I can vouch for all three!!) . Best room is on the top floor facing the back of the building since it has it's own bathroom, next best is the canal view on the top floor where we stayed with the bathroom down the hall. Rooms are simple with very good beds. The only issue I had was that the hotel bathrooms and rooms could be a little more cleaner. For the money though, it was a great find and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSEski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    91
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
154
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked the hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. Travelling with our 2 teenage sons we stayed in the Charlie Chaplin Room overlooking the canal and they had the Marlene Dietrich room overlooking the beautiful garden on the 3rd floor for 2 nights. The rooms were comfortable and clean with tea making facilities and a hair dryer. We had a shared toilet on the landing which was fine. The boys loved the steep spiral staircase watching their father attempt them as if he were climbing a mountain! The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit salad, cereal, warm fresh breads, cheeses and an omelette cooked to perfection on our final morning. Mary and her daughter and family were very welcoming and friendly and we would definately stay again on our next trip to Amsterdam. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We read many good reviews on TripAdvisor about this hotel and chose it because of this. We could not have been happier. It truly is more like a Bed and Breakfast than an impersonal hotel. The Family De Vries treated us like part of the family. The hotel has a great location, close to the center of the city and down the street from the Anne Frank House. The room was one of the best we ever had in all of our stays in Europe. Large, clean, and a great view... it was called the John Wayne Room. The breakfast, which is included in your rate, was fantastic. But, the charm of Earnest, Mary ( the matriarch of the family), and Hanika, the daughter makes this place very special. We spent 2 nights there prior to our Rotterdam cruise and this hotel experience got us off to a great start. A good price for being in the main part of the city and an English speaking family to give you all the comforts of home. I would go back in a second if we return to Amsterdam! Martin and Sue Fleischman, stayed 6/27/13, 6/28/13

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location close to museums and other attractions we stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the garden. Only negative was carrying heavy suitcases up a winding narrow staircase. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Hotel Keizershof is a great place to stay. We had a spacious room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden. The location is central to all Amsterdam attractions. The breakfasts were delicious! We would definitely recommend the Hotel Keizershof.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolilydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. The family running the establishment are charming and helpful. The breakfast is REALLY good, lots of choices and variety...they even offered to make an omelet for us (we had one on the 2nd day and it was delicious!).

This is a great location on a canal and about a 5 minute walk from the main museum area.

It's about a 15 minute walk to the Jordaan neighborhood and the Anne Frank House.

It's a bit expensive to stay here, but comparable to other Amsterdam places.

A few "warnings" - super small and steep "Amsterdam-style" stairs...if you are slightly concerned about that, might need to request the room that's only one flight up.

Also, the family has (as of July 2013) a dog and a cat. This wasn't a huge deal, but my wife has fairly strong cat allergies and we did bring her medicine because we didn't think about it. The only time she was affected much was down in the common room...our sleeping room wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrptPlyr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay here in our bright and airy room with fantastic views of the Keizergracht. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
Only note is that if you have mobility issues, the stairs are steep and windy so having large bags to carry up isn't easy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 368 in Amsterdam
147 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 368 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#40 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing