We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, little place close to Dam square”
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
Ranked #233 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice, little place close to Dam square. Our room was on 3rd floor, had to climb up the narrow and steep stairs, but i guess its like this throughout amsterdam. Room was clean, facing the canal. Beds were comfortable. However the en-suite bathroom was very very small!!!
Nice breakfast and the staff was very helpful.
Its at walking distance from dam square, which is very convenient.
Overall decent little place, considering its location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aditi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hoksbergen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

we stayed there for 1 night, its a small clean, well located hotel...
the staff is also nice....

as everybody else mentioned - the staircase is scary !!..... and after those visits to coffeeshops and bars .. u will find it tough to climb those small slabs fitted on a vertical wall...

the room we were in was a tiny one ... the bathroom was the smallest i have ever seen... clean though !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Yitzhak A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights during the first week of September and enjoyed our stay.
The staff were all very kind as helpful when dealing with everything, and it was a cute little charming hotel, in the Singel area.

One thing I really liked about is that it was about 5 min walk to Dam Square and the street behind the hotel had a ton of shops and restaurants and bars, which meant it was a nice lively area but not that touristy I thought.

The rooms were okay, the size wasnt all that bad we had a double bed room so it was okay. Bathrooms are clean and so are the beds, just to note there is no mini fridge, no safety deposit box, and no air conditioning in the room.

Another thing that was sort of annoying was the stairs. Not that I don't like stairs but these were no ordinary stairs, they were extremely steep and narrow so please be careful and I don't think if there is elderly in your party this is the best choice as a hotel.

Otherwise overall it was a good stay for what it was, it's a 2/3 star hotel so don't be expecting much more than what you get. It was a good stay, great location, kind staff and a nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talullyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Our room was on the first floor. The staff was absolutely wonderful and extremely helpful. Thanks Bruno! Great breakfast to start your day. The room was painfully small as was the bathroom but was very clean. The great location & service more than make up for the room size, besides your only in the room long enough to sleep as the city keeps calling to be explored.

Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a lovely little two star hotel. The family that runs it is friendly and helpful, and it is quite centrally located and within walking distance of anything you could want to see. We stayed on the second floor, up steep and winding stairs, and had pretty view of the canal. We left the windows open at night to get some cool air flow in the room and woke up covered in mosquito bites that we did not have the evening before. That would be our only dislike, no screens on the windows and no AC so the windows had to be open. Otherwise, the facility could use a little sprucing up. I would recommend this for those that are not concerned with extra space or fancy surroundings, and the stairs aren't for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwrrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A very pleasant little hotel in a quiet road by the side of one of the Amsterdam canals. Conveniently situated for all the major sites - the furthest away of these are the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum which are a pleasant 30 minute of so walk or a tram ride (tram stop just 3/4 minutes away).

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Other people have commented on the steep stairs (apparently the norm in old Amsterdam buildings). This is just something you have to put up with for all the other advantages of this hotel. Personally I found coming down the stairs worse as the steps are quite narrow - just take it easy and its something you get used to after a couple of goes.

The only thing I would really criticise is the breakfast - standard fare I suppose for Dutch hotels but they could try to use something better than standard sliced brown or white bread and the fruit had seen better days!

Room Tip: As I'm sure everyone else would say, try to get one on a lower floor (mine was at the very top...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#296 of 371 in Amsterdam
566 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,041 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 371 in Amsterdam
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#97 of 371 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,955 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £112 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing