We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hoksbergen
Ranked #221 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    146
    68
    27
    17
See reviews for
51
153
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were very pleased with both the location, right on the Singel Canal, and the staff. Virtually everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Rooms were very small as expected in an old canal house. Decor and carpets could have used updating/replacing but everything was very clean. Included breakfast was simple but adequate, including some meats and cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread and fruits.
We started on the second floor but found the second floor stairs too steep for our old legs. We expected steep but not that much. After two nights, we were able to move down one flight for a night but then switched to another hotel because of the stairs. The management was very accomodating with our moving around.
The other thing I missed was having a lobby to hang out in during early morning hours when I was awake but my wife was still sleeping. Unfortunately, they lock off their dining room overnight, otherwise I would have sat there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Hoksbergen with my boyfriend and we were very pleasantly surprised. We paid 350 euros for a double room with no canal view. Sure the decor, carpets, furniture could do with updating but our room was spotless, was cleaned everyday (including fresh towels provided). Our bathroom had just been recently renovated.

As others have mentioned the stairs are steep but during our stay we came to learn that this is the norm for canal houses. We didn't find the stairs a problem but anyone who has walking / breathing difficulties might.

The hotel is very centrally located - 2mins to dam square and within walking distance of all the attractions we wanted to visit during our stay (anne frank museum, zoo, madame tussauds, dungeons, canal museum, etc etc).

The breakfast was very basic so if you are looking for something more special then don't stay here but it was more than adequate and set us up well for the day. Cereal, toast, juice, apples, oranges, ham, cheese, tea, coffee, crackers and rice cakes.

Our only complaint - and its a very minor one - is that there were no tea and coffee making facilities. We are both big tea and coffee drinkers and this meant that we spent a small fortune - which we hadn't budgeted for - on takeaway tea and coffees from cafes during the day.


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amandamc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfect, central location, all points of interest at walking distance. Friendly people. Spacious apartment, very clean. Old building, but that is normal in the center of Amsterdam. The double bed had a uncomfortable matrass.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyHamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location was excellent. It was within walking distance of the dam, Anne Frank museum & other main sites. However be prepared for the extremely steep stairs,especially if you are on the top floor. Also if you are over 6 feet, you may have a problem with the bathroom we had, Our bathroom was very small and the ceiling was very low. I am 5'10 & my head was almost touching the bathroom ceiling. It was also quite noisy on Saturday night. It sounded like people were partying just below our bedroom window, Therefore you might want to bring some earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the moment we walked in the from door, we felt welcome! We stayed in room 2, which was on the 2nd floor for 4 nights, and no view but that was fine, the room itself was very small, but remember we hardly spent any time in the room, the bathroom was very nice and newly remodeled, the WIFI was great. Breakfast was perfect! and there coffee was the best! I believe the house was built in 1620 and was right on the canal, and in walking distance to everything!!!! We hope to come back to Amsterdam someday and we will definitely stay here again!!!! thank you so much for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#285 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#305 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Property: Hotel Hoksbergen
Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing