We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hoksbergen
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
88
173
87
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
173
87
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsteep stairsdam squareno elevatorgreat locationrooms are smalltraditional dutchcanal view roomfourth floorwalking distance to everythinggave us a mapflower marketincluded breakfastanne frank housefriendly hotelcentral stationluggage
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Hoksbergen Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was below average which I was expecting. But my room was really bad. It was very dirty and moldy. The handle to the closet fell off as i touched it. Inside the closet there was a three centimeter thick dust layer at the bottom. On the wall next to my bed there was some sort of old brown stain that had been running down from the carpet. I had nightmares of what it originated from...
Rooms were super small, but that was expected

It will not stay there again. Nor will I recommend anybody staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DK-ThomasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that despite of your bad experience, you were very happy with our staff and the location of our hotel.

We are sad to read that you had a dissapointing experience in our hotel. We are more surprised why you did not contact our reception during your 3 nights (uncomfortable) stay which even resulted in your nightmares.

We always do our very best to accommodate guests in every way we can. Our hotel might not be a modern new hotel, but we do all we can to keep it clean and well maintained. We will take your review to improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your review about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for our visit to Amsterdam. The staff were helpful and stored our bikes securely.The location is great, 5 minutes walk from Dam Square. There are good restaurants and bars nearby. One note of caution - there is no lift and the stairs are steep. If it that doesn't put you off this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although the conditions may perhaps be reflective of it's 2 star rating, the photos we saw online were not a fair representation of the room we were given. The stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep, and as if to add insult to injury, we were put on the very top floor (really quite a climb!). When we asked if there were any other rooms, we were told that we were the youngest in the hotel so we could cope with it. I'm not even going to touch on the discriminatory aspects of this. The bathrooms were newly renovated (albeit small), but the rooms themselves were extremely outdated (even featuring a pink velvet headboard), and mirrored a cheap hostel. When booking, the hotel asks if you want a double or a twin room (as a preference, you can't guarantee one or the other), however, when we were given a twin room (asked for a double), we were told they only have THREE double rooms in the entire hotel. When I noticed there were at least 15 rooms, asking what your preference is at booking seems fairly irrelevant. The room wasn't particularly clean, and it looked like it hadn't been painted in decades (except for a few random paint splodges across walls). We were so disappointed with the room we actually ended up deciding to stay somewhere else, despite the room being non-refundable, choosing a slightly higher priced three star hotel chain. I would not recommend this for a couple looking to have a nice break away, it's perhaps more suited to young travelers on a budget who are literally just looking for a place to lay their head.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabel1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
It is sad to read that you were not happy with the room you were assigned to. In the end we are just a simple budget hotel, this is also how we present ourselves and nothing more.

Being a little hotel in a 300-years old monumental canal house, we only have 14 little rooms. Between these 14 little rooms, we have a few single rooms, a few double rooms, a few twin rooms and a triple room. During the booking process each guest can write down a preference for the bed types, but as you noticed yourself already, this is really just a preference. When we see these kind of preferences, we do our very best to accommodate you in the right room, if not possible, we do our best to find another solution. In your case we booked a nice little twin room with two beds next to eachother WITH a canal view to please you. We are sad to read that you were not happy with this solution, but it is the best we could do.

Regarding our hotel not having an elevator, we are not even allowed to build an elevator, because our canal house is an Unesco protected monument. Because of our steep stairs, we do our best to book the right room for the right person. it is of course obvious that an elderly person will get a room on a lower floor and that younger guest will get a room on a higher floor (like you, being 22 years old), this has nothing to do with discrimination, this is just common sense.

Anyway, being a little budget hotel in an old monumental house, we still do our very best to keep our hotel clean and well maintained. We did our best to offer you another solution, but we could not stop you from your choice to move to a more stars and more expensive luxury hotel.

We hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here mid-May. I would have given this hotel 3 stars for its location. However, although the bathrooms were nice and clean and recently renovated, the old carpeting and chairs in the hotel room made me not want to set anything down on the floor or in the shelving of the closets! My friend and I also could not tell if they had changed the comforter cover between guests since there was no flat sheets on our beds. The staff was nice for the most part, BUT when I asked the front desk person (female with long hair) for an international postcard stamp, she charged me 1.50 euros for and old stamp that was worth 1 euro instead of the 1.05 needed to send something. Had I not went to a more legitimate hotel to get real answers, my postcards would've been tossed in the trash. Guess this hotel wants every euro cent it can get.... I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy, whether you ask for a canal view (facing the street) or request a non-canal view (right next to the stairs and front door!)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We hope you had a nice holiday in Amsterdam. We are a simple budget hotel. Our furniture and carpet might not be a brand-new, but we definitely do our upper best to keep everything clean and well maintained.

Regarding our bedding we would like to clear up some matters, some hotels indeed use a flat sheet between their comforter sheet for their beds, but if they do this, the comforter sheet are not being cleaned. Our hotel is using comforter sheets which our profesionnal laundry washes for EACH new guest (and every three days during a longer stay). This is the same way 3 and 4 stars hotel operate.

Regarding your issue with the postage stamp. It is very unfair and unacceptable that you are accusing us about questionable practices. We are a little family run hotel which has been here since 1939, with a very good reputation in Amsterdam and among travelers. Why would we risk this reputation for a few Euro cents.

Clearly you are not familiar with the postage system in Holland. All of our stamps have the number "1" on it, in combination with the word "Nederland, Europa or Wereld". This means each stamp is worth "1 unit" for either "Holland, Europe or World".... 1 unit is referring to the weight of the letter or package to be sent, the heavier the letter, the more units are necessary, it is NOT the price of the stamp. Accusing us of questionable practices is VERY very offending, you should have asked for an explanation right away instead of writing a review based on assumptions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everything previously written is pretty much the case. Stairs are steep, rooms are small, staff is nice.
We took bus 197 from the airport to the end of the line and walked. It isn't a bad walk, maybe 15 mins but with luggage a bit much. Location is close to everything.
Our room was overlooking the canal on the second floor. Room was indeed small and simple but it was clean so who cares? Some of the BEST coffee in the morning! Close to everything and the staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Canal was quiet and it is worth the money for the view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews