We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #24 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights during Amsterdam Dance Event. Clean, and near the Felix Meritis center. Nice buffet breakfast.
The only thing is a missing elevator to get to the lobby and room but they can help you with the luggage. An excellent quality/price rate.Book in advance.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Braccinocorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights for the Amsterdam marathon. Hotel is in great location, few mins from Dam square. Area is nice and safe. Hotel is extremely well run, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and modern if slightly small. The stairs up to reception is the only slightly negative bit, but we had done the marathon and were struggling. Overall, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is very cozy and quiet hotel in the center of the city, with a very good location! It's not far from the central station. Official check-in time is at 14.00, but frendly personal met me with the coffee and allowed to check-in at 12! I had a single room - it's very nice, clean, and comfortable - perfect if you stay alone. The price is very reasonable!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Welcoming, friendly and efficient staff. We asked for (and got) a quiet room away from the main road. The view was over neighbouring gardens and elegant old houses. It was a small and compact room but perfectly designed with modern decor and everything functioning well. There was a good selection for breakfast and It was very clean throughout. The location is perfect for most things central. It's on a tram and bus route. We would definitely return.

No dislikes. The staircase to reception is a challenge as it's very steep and 37 steps high, but the staff offer to carry your luggage. A great place to stay for few days but the room could feel cramped for any longer.

Room Tip: Some reviewers have commented about traffic noise, so ask for a room on the other side if this bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnzoPuzzovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were a large group of friends with confusingly different arrival and departure times. This aspect was handled brilliantly by the hotel before we arrived. On arrival the welcomes were faultless and the staff continued to be exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout our stay. On the debit side the rooms are tiny, although available space was used ingeniously! Also there are exceptionally steep stairs both to reception and to all rooms.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies which, depending on the weather, provide extra living space. Avoiding the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraintCatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Location was great - convenient and in a safe area. Staff was very accommodating allowing me to check in early and even have breakfast that first morning. Room had small refrigerator.

The previous occupant of the room changed the TV menu to be in Russian. They also set a wake up time. The desk clerk was not knowledgable on how to fix either of these issues. So I was awakened both days at 4:30 am. The beds are narrow as are the stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this nice little hotel with our two kids (3 and 6 years) in a three-bed room. All in all, a pleasant stay!
Yet, there are some pros and cons (as always). Very positive is the staff: helpful, friendly and especially nice with the kids. We also enjoyed the breakfast - not luxurious, but a nice variety, appealingly presented and we were offered extras (scrambled eggs etc.). I also liked the lobby: comfortable chairs, nice balconies, a self-serving fridge with drinks, tv set etc.
The room was modern, but really small. The same holds true for the bathroom. For four people hard to manage for a longer stay, but for two nights it was okay. And, as said before, very well renovated, quiet. well-lit (windows to the garden-side). Price was reasonable.
We also liked the steep, steep stairs: a long one from the road level up and then one or two more to the floor with the rooms. The kids liked it - kind of a hike in the mountains, but very 'Amsterdam', and when you reach the top, all in all rewarding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_rgen_P_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#45 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,108 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,117 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £85 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing