We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little jem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this lovely hotel, we stayed here for 3 glorious nights over the warmest weekend so far this year.when you first go through the front door you're confronted by a very steep stair case, (most hotels are the same). But once up the steps it opens up into a wonderful refurbished hotel and every room has been sympathetical decorated. We loved it, so clean and tidy.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly and always happy to help!
The rooms are all quite small but manageable, we coped well in ours. There is complimentary tea and coffee 24/7.
Breakfast is continental style , breads, cheeses, toasts, croissants etc all very nice indeed. I will one day return to the Clemens as its a wonderful hotel in a very central location, just perfect in my opinion.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jembaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    326
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
150
388
133
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a triple room with my friends in feb, from the minute we reached the top of the stairs our stay was perfect. On arrival a big smile and friendly face, offered us tea or coffee & from there everything was perfect. Great location 2mins walk Anne Frank house & less than 10mins to Dam Square, plenty to choose from for breakfast, room clean & modern, great shower. Just can't understand how it only has 2 star rating, (should be 4 star) do not let this rating put you off staying here! Just book it you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank vegasmadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

An extremely good hotel, clean, comfortable and very welcoming. The lighting in the bedroom was great, particularly the reading spotlights on either side of the bed. Good location, just across the road to the Anne Frank Huis enabled us to beat the queues. This was after a very adequate breakfast with a superb selection of food, including plenty of fresh fruit. We actually enjoyed hearing the ting-a-ling of the tram bells and the striking of the Westerkerk clock - it reminded us that we are free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very good hotel very clean had a mix up with booking but all sorted with no extra cost, the only let down really is the noise from the trams and traffic on the front facing rooms, but wouldn't hessitate too stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonBunny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is very well located closed to the Dam place and many restaurants and near canals too. The hotel members are really nice and try to help you all the time for any needs.
Rooms though they are small (characteristic from all Amsterrdam hotels) are very convenient, cosy and we loved decoration; bathroom is very clean and very new.
Food for breakfast is excellent quality and you can find everything (cheese, ham, fruits, cereals, yogurts...). They are very nice cats in the wecoming room which gives a cocooning effect.
Very good hotel for a romantic week end! We recommend and we will comme back for sure!

Room Tip: for the rooms ask for a room on the garden side = more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieB752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location and good overall impression. Breakfast was really good and had all the stuff you could usually imagine eating for a breakfast. Besides stairs and room size which everyone mention, I would point out not consistent maintenance of cleanness and noise levels on the street side of the hotel.Even the beds were extra comofortable, trams and airplanes definitely did influence sleep, in a bad way ofcourse. :)

Room Tip: Select room with view on a garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is a 15 min walk away from Amsterdam Centraal. 3 Minutes to Madame Tussauds and the city center. Around the Hotel are Bakerys, a Supermarket, Tram Station...
I got a Singleroom, it was small but enough and nice with fridge and HD LCD. I think the whole Hotel is renovated in 2013, everything is clean and ok. The Breakfast ist good and there is the whole Day Cafe 4 free! If you pay thr room cash, you get a 5% discount!
If i stayed next time in Amsterdam is book this Hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#38 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Property: Clemens Hotel
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing