We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this - and don't stay here!”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #195 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Worst night ever. We came as a group of 6 students not expecting much for 10 euros and knowing what hostels are like but this is something else... Staff were unfriendly and rude. The luggage room is akin to Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs - the door is literally waist height. Went up a million crooked wobbly stairs to our room of bunk beds with no stairs up to the top bunks. Saw two bugs on the bed when came in at 3am so went to reception and we were moved to another room. This one had ripped sheets and suspect stains... Spent the night sitting on the concrete floor trying to pass a few hours before mcDonalds would open... DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ejk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Awesome prices. Super friendly younger staff that will help you locate places on maps. Market close by. Centraal station 5 minutes walking distance. Girls dorm is pretty nice. Usually always have to wait until 2pm to get to your rooms. It's super close to everything you're going to want to do around here. A 20 minute walk to museumplein. And a 15 minute walk to Leidseplein. Over 3 canals and you're in The Red Light District. I've never seen a single mouse and I've stayed here off and on for the past month.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

There are plenty enough of better budget hostels in Amsterdam not to recommend this one. The entrance underneath the ground looks like a teenager's playground, decorated with notes and drawings, loud music, and people smoking. Not bad, but i've seen way better, quieter and cleaner hostel.
The check-in time is strictly at 14pm. No matter if they have a bed avalaible earlier, you have to come back at 14. Don't count on any flexibily from the receptionist.
The luggage "room" didn't look safe to me so i didn't even want to leave my bag there.
The shared room are big. Be prepare to share with 16 people your room and bathroom. Bunk bed are basic and in iron.
You can leave your things in a (dirty) closet you'll have the key upon deposit.
Breakfast is more than basic: two slices of bread, with butter everybody dips in.
The good points: bathroom is clean, sheets also, there are 2 computers with free internet access in Reception (the day i went; only one was working).
Conclusion: for this range of price, i've seen better in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laetitia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Arrived at 8pm on weeknight. Main hall was like a bar on weekends: packed, pot-smokeing (good in my book), all seats taken. There was no place to sit down and gather my luggage. No hot water in the showers, only freezing cold water.

Front desk closes at 10:30pm and opens at 8am... so if you're leaving early, you'd have to jam a piece of paper in the self-locking door, run downstairs and return the key before 10:30pm, and hope no one else in your room locks the door... or you'd lose your 20€ key deposit. Bathroom in the room was out of order, so I had to hold everything from 10:30pm until I leave the room early morning.

Public bathroom is nasty - unidentifiable fluids on the floor.

The only good thing was the bedding and mattresses were VERY comfortable - good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_91106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked 'bob's suite' which is anything but luxury which is how they described it. they said it had private bathroom, seperate bedroom with 4 beds and a kitchen area....... the bathroom was ridiciously dirty considering it was private and there was only enough hot water for one person!. nothing in the kitchen area worked (shabby wardrobe with sink and microwave in it), there were only 3 beds, one was a sofa in the front room which has never been cleaned in its life. and to top that there were mice!!! if you are english and went to a premier inn and there was mice it would probably be shut down. not in amsterdam, they are EVERYWHERE and according to the manager, if your in a city you should deal with it. 4 days were booked, day 1=REFUND... DONT DO IT

Room Tip: choose anywhere but bob's. etap or ibis. more expensive but no mice and good cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We visitd Amsterdam with the Uni and around 20 of us booked with bobs but out of those 20 none stayed for more than 1 night, moat chose to wander the streets suitcase in hand than stay. We had a private 4 person dorm which had 1 double bed, 1 single bed and 2 sofa. The kitchenette didn't work, or was filthy.

The shower bathroom area had a level of acumen on the floor and was constantly waterlogged. There was only enough hot water for 1 shower in the morning.

On an unrelated note, the stairs were murder. They did however return everyone's money with limited hassle.

It is incredibly central, and a good rate. I would say its value though.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowpeep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Myself and a friend visited Amsterdam for a long weekend (3 nights). Bob's was quite easy to find and it is very close to Amsterdam Centraal station (10mins walk) and around 5 minutes walk from Dam Square - an ideal location really for those who want to see the main sights in the centre of the city. It is also situated on one of the main tram thoroughfares, meaning it is easy to get to pretty much anywhere you want to go.

As we entered Bob's, we were greeted with a weed-smoke filled reception, although I am led to believe that this is not always the case as it is prohibited to smoke in there before 12pm and also some of the staff don't allow it on their shift (this is pot luck however, no pun intended!). We didn't mind this at all, but if you aren't a fan of soft drugs then staying at this hostel is probably not for you as it is quite prevalent. The people sitting in the lounge are very friendly, as were the staff, and the atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. I met a couple of very good friends who I will certainly be staying in touch with, just by sitting in the reception lounge, and it would be ideal for backpackers or solo travellers who want to make some good company for their stay in the city. There are two computers in the reception which are free to use for accessing the internet, however they were mostly always in use throughout the day, and I don't believe there is free wifi although it is advertised.

There is a rule that no smoking is allowed in the bedrooms, however unfortunately some of the guests were flaunting this at times. We stayed in a 16-person mixed dorm room, and the beds were very comfortable with clean bed linen. The bedroom was also really warm, which was great when returning from a cold night in the town. I also found the bedrooms to be very quiet throughout the day and night, with the odd exception of course, so this is a definite advantage if you are travelling and appreciate the peace and quiet to catch up on sleep at any time.

The bathroom however was quite dirty and wasn't cleaned for the four days that we were there - just consisted of a basic sink, toilet and shower. It was certainly enough for us (2 guys) although I'd imagine that those who are more hygiene-conscious will be disappointed with it.

Bob's provides breakfast also, and although it isn't much, it is free! Every day we got 2 slices of toast, some jam, peanut butter and Nutella, a boiled egg and a cup of coffee. Not bad to kickstart your day at no cost really.

Next time I visit Amsterdam, I will probably check out another hostel - we heard good reports about the Flying Pig from some backpackers who stayed at Bob's one night, although if it came to it, I would stay in Bob's again. It's not pretty, but it provides enough for the young traveller on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building (on Spuistraat) seemed to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#100 of 237 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 237 in Amsterdam
1,275 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £18 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing