We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgustable.”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Rads
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgustable.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Let's be honest. Any place called 'Bob's Youth Hostel' in the middle of Amsterdam is likely to be, at best, a reasonably daggy marijuana den. We weren't expecting a great deal when we checked in downstairs in the dingy common area, but I must say that Bob's didn't meet even our minimally demanding standards. Our 8-bed dorm at the top of a terrifyingly steep staircase was outrageously tiny. There was almost no room to fit our backpacks, especially because the rather generously sized lockers had been generously filled with half-eaten sandwiches by the previous tenants. Despite this, and despite the disturbing amount of mould we found in our ensuite shower (the toilet was shared between two 8 person rooms and was also not anchored to the floor...), we decided to press on and hope for the best. The first night was passed in reasonable comfort, having become somewhat accustomed to the squalor. The appearance of a couple of itchy bites on one of our compatriots the next morning probably should have raised more alarm bells than it did, but we thought we had checked the beds quite thoroughly. As it turned out, we had been unfortunate enough not to find the enormous bedbug infestation on our initial search. Similarly, it was not particularly conducive to sleep when we discovered a mouse rifling through a packet of stroopwaffles in the middle of the night. Sadly, this resulted in a rather large dry cleaning bill for all of us and a rather hurried look for alternative accommodation that was not subject to a serious problem with mould, pestilence and vermin. I will say, however, that they did return our money without too much argument.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doesnotlikebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    80
    114
    97
    128
See reviews for
3
19
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

1.Staff where very rude ESPECIALLY THE GUY AT THE DESK, LONG GREASY HAIR .,Got charged extra thn originally agreed on booking.

2.BED BUGS!!! Slept fully clothed still gt bit on legs!!!

3.I woke up from my lst nite in the dam to the sound of what only can be described as a jack hammer against our private room wall (Bad times) Building work, didnt even get a warning! !!!!

I COULD GO ON·······DONT STAY HERE ITS CHEAP BUT SPEND THAT EXTRA 20 euroes and stay somwhere at least half decent. TRUST ME YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PG240491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed twice at Bob's Youth Hostel. First time I decided to visit Amsterdam at the last minute and needed a budget place within walking distance of the train station, second time because I knew the hostel and liked it...

Both times I ended up staying in the 14 bed female dorm, which was fine and seemed clean. The room was big so there was space for everyone. Both the lockers and the shower worked fine. The dorm was quiet on both stays so I can't complain.

Breakfast was included and served downstairs in the bar/reception area. Though quite basic it was ok.

The only things I didn't like much back then was the smell of cigarettes pretty much everywhere in the building, as the doors to the bar/ reception stayed open most of the time. Also in the morning we got the cleaning team (all males) coming into the room without warning... Other than that I had a great time at Bob's Youth Hostel. The bar downstairs did a good job for a few drinks and to meet fellow travelers. The location was nice - just a 10' walk from Amsterdam Central station and quite close to downtown as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frosti2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed here for one night, and once was enough. The beds are uncomfortable, showers are gross, and the place smells like pee. The lockers are on the smaller side and will not fit your trekking backpack or suitcase. Bob's has all the basics and is one of the cheapest options in town, but it is grungy and I would rather pay a few euros more for a cleaner place with less than 16 beds in one room. There is a lockout starting a 3AM, until maybe 7(?).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiebuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

i was chocked when i checked in.
the place is too small, the luggage room is like a dumpster..
to reach your room, you have to take the tiny stairs, and make sure you don't fall!!
the bathrooms weren't clean knowing that there's like 19 other in the room.

breakfast is ok.

location is good.

and on week ends the price per bed rises to 30 EURO WTF!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindcircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Worst night ever. We came as a group of 6 students not expecting much for 10 euros and knowing what hostels are like but this is something else... Staff were unfriendly and rude. The luggage room is akin to Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs - the door is literally waist height. Went up a million crooked wobbly stairs to our room of bunk beds with no stairs up to the top bunks. Saw two bugs on the bed when came in at 3am so went to reception and we were moved to another room. This one had ripped sheets and suspect stains... Spent the night sitting on the concrete floor trying to pass a few hours before mcDonalds would open... DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Awesome prices. Super friendly younger staff that will help you locate places on maps. Market close by. Centraal station 5 minutes walking distance. Girls dorm is pretty nice. Usually always have to wait until 2pm to get to your rooms. It's super close to everything you're going to want to do around here. A 20 minute walk to museumplein. And a 15 minute walk to Leidseplein. Over 3 canals and you're in The Red Light District. I've never seen a single mouse and I've stayed here off and on for the past month.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#173 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing