We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with everything!”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy with everything!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I cant get over the previous comments! It's a cheap and cheerful hostel, not a 5* hotel!
The beds were clean and really comfortable, there was no signs of rats or anything like that!
A group of 7 of us went with no expectations at all and were pleasantly surprised! The shower in our room was private and lovely, it was a wet room and the toilet was just outside the door. The place was in a seriously good location, We stayed in the building behind and the cafe "The Doors" is just below and brilliant, can take your own smokes and is very cheap.
I can't fault bobs (except staying four floors up with the steepest stairs, bit tricky especially after a few!) Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    80
    114
    97
    128
See reviews for
3
19
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leyland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After reading various online reviews I was unsure what to expect, considering the price I had paid for the rooms I can't complain, the place was tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hostel is great. The breakfast is very minimal (toast and a boiled egg) but this was made up for by the cheap beer prices!
I will definitely be staying here again if I make a return trip to Amsterdam.
Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A place very much below any hostel standards. Although complaints about bed bugs from other guests, no action. In the first night mice and rats kept us awake in the room B. In the second night a guy kicked me out of bed and treated me like some criminal. having prolongued the bed, the night receptionist claimed i didnt, kicking me out of bed like a criminal in a prison cell. Overall - miserable - if you want to relax - not recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Having read some of the reviews here I wonder what peoples expectations are for a hostel? The lounge is a little tired and the toilets used in that area are a bit grim but the rooms are top notch, I stayed in the other building across the road and it was really nice. Comfy beds, brand spanking new toilets and showers in my room ( F ). If there was a queue for the loo then you can just pop up a level and use the toilet there.
The staff are pretty cool, one douch bag, but other than that it was a cool way to spend a weekend. The location is awesome, about 8 mins walk from Centraal and on the edge of the RLD. Two realy good coffee shops within spitting distance and the tram stops out front.
The stairs could suck but its Amsterdam and thats how the buildings are built!
Plus with Amsterdam being on the water there are always gonna be rats and mice, however i never saw either.
Keep up the good work guys, see you in June!

Room Tip: Room F, few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teepee_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Awful experience. This place was disgusting, from the hallways to the lounge to the rooms.... It was dirty. Stayed on the top floor and had to endure a walk up a never ending flight of steep stairs. The lockers were tiny, there was no hot water, the rooms were cold, and the service sucked. I did not expect a 4 or 5 star hotel, however, I did expect some basic amenities and customer service. There are far better places to stay - I highly recommend avoiding this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights (16 beds). The location is great however locations of all the hostels in Amsterdam are great :)
One shower and toilet for 16 people. No shampoo and other staff. Not clean.
Breakfast sucks (2 slice of bread and jam). Emplooyes are not kind, not rude. Don't care for anything. I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms suck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Owing to the terrible reviews on this site, we went with no expectations whatsoever. Therefore, the place turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.
Very nice "reception" coffeeshop area, which is good to chill out in. Great music and you are allowed to eat your own food, drink your own drinks, and smoke your own stuff in there. They also sell cheap drinks. Great location, close to Dam square, supermarket, train station. Breakfast was satisfactory, two pieces of toast, some jam/peanut butter + a bolied egg. For the money we pay it's good.
Staff really helpful and ready to help in everything. Desk open from 8am to 3am. Luggage room very useful.
Bathroom is exceptionally clean and new. Soap provided, amazing shower. Beds are comfy.
Flexible check-in time too. Clean sheets provided, towels too for 1 euro!
All in all, awesome place. The place was a great surprise, excellent value for money.

Negative side is that there was no plug in our room so we had to charge our batteries at the reception and the floor was not always very tidy even though it was cleaned daily.

Room Tip: The 16 bed dorm on the first floor has an amazing new bathroom and no bedbugs! Great shower, soap pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#173 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing