We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rethink staying here.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rethink staying here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Full of young people, perfect if all you want to see in Amsterdam is the back of your eyelids, I don't generally like to smoke where I eat so beware. Beds were clean and it was good for the price but I wouldn't recommend it unless your a teenage boy

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtletravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    79
    111
    92
    126
See reviews for
3
19
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Didn't expect much before I got there but it really was one of the best parts of our Amsterdam experience. Stayed here with 2 friends in a 18 bed dorm. Beds were comfy and cleaned before we slept in them. The shower and toilet were clean. The breakfast is satisfactory, two rounds of toast, a boiled egg, jam and a coffee or tea. Cheap and Cheerful, you get what you pay for right. Great atmosphere in the lounge/reception area throughout the day. Location is great and everything is less than a 20 minute walk once you get your bearings. Great for single travellers/groups of friends. If you are going to Amsterdam as a couple/family cough up some more money for a hotel. I stayed from 12th-17th April 2012 and I am already planning our next journey to Bobs.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings, we stayed in the one behind bobs and stayed facing the road which was quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed in a provate room, really beautiful bit very dirty. There were plastic bottles underneath the beds and a lot of dust. Is is clear to me that nobody cleans that room prior to new arrivals. Breakfast is terrible. Very well located though. We found a rat inside our room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudmilaAssad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very basic 8 bed dorm, 4 bunk beds. not very clean. bed bugs in most beds, 1 member of our group bitten on face and neck, i would pay more n stay elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt123a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I cant get over the previous comments! It's a cheap and cheerful hostel, not a 5* hotel!
The beds were clean and really comfortable, there was no signs of rats or anything like that!
A group of 7 of us went with no expectations at all and were pleasantly surprised! The shower in our room was private and lovely, it was a wet room and the toilet was just outside the door. The place was in a seriously good location, We stayed in the building behind and the cafe "The Doors" is just below and brilliant, can take your own smokes and is very cheap.
I can't fault bobs (except staying four floors up with the steepest stairs, bit tricky especially after a few!) Would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

After reading various online reviews I was unsure what to expect, considering the price I had paid for the rooms I can't complain, the place was tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of the hostel is great. The breakfast is very minimal (toast and a boiled egg) but this was made up for by the cheap beer prices!
I will definitely be staying here again if I make a return trip to Amsterdam.
Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

A place very much below any hostel standards. Although complaints about bed bugs from other guests, no action. In the first night mice and rats kept us awake in the room B. In the second night a guy kicked me out of bed and treated me like some criminal. having prolongued the bed, the night receptionist claimed i didnt, kicking me out of bed like a criminal in a prison cell. Overall - miserable - if you want to relax - not recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#14 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#95 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#172 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing