We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I stayed there, we refered to it as "Hostile Bob's"”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #188 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“When I stayed there, we refered to it as "Hostile Bob's"”
Reviewed 4 March 2008

I think that tells you all you need to know about this place. Ugh, I got locked out once because of their stupid curfew!! I'm not sure if they still have that. Oh, and come prepared to deal with bedbugs. No, those aren't mosquito bites!! In all my return trips to Amsterdam, I've steered way clear of this [--].

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — hmmm...i'm reallly not sure where to begin!!!
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javaheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    83
    119
    100
    132
See reviews for
3
19
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

To be perfectly honest this place is hell! The people at reception were terrible unfriendly, the room that we were in was filthy and the bathroom was worse- any of the people that had stayed there before us who had left toothbrushes/ clothes- all of their stuff was still in the room! So the bathroom was complete with 13 complimentary toothbrushes! The breakfast consisted of 2 boiled eggs which, to be honest, when you have the munchies, it pretty awesome! There was another place nearby called the flying pig or something and it looked SO nice, especially when compared to Bobs- we hadn't booked anything when we arrived- so I'd definately reccommend having some place to stay before you get there. The benefits of Bobs is that its right in the centre of Amsterdam, in a kinda mini red light district. There was a red light window right across the road, don't worry the red light district is fun and not scary at all! We'd run out of money by our last night so we just hung out in the doorway of our hostel getting wasted, and any random person who walked past us joined us- GREAT FUN!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank fatboy_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Bobs hostel was pretty ordinary. It was dark and dirty. To get to the front desk you need to pass through the thick cloud of smoke as this is where everyone gathers for socialising..with 'joint' in hand. Do yourself a favour and pick any other hostel but Bobs.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarris07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Perhaps I will write an in-depth review sometime detailing just how twisted disgusting and dishonest this establishment is and how shabbily, and hostilely I was treated. Then again, I have a life...so I may not actually take the time. Although it might be amusing. In short, there are many, many other, FAR BETTER places to stay than "Bob's" in Amsterdam. Please seek them out! In a crunch a park bench might be a better option...

. I should note that there IS NO BOB! This may be a hint!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Arrived at stated time -11.00, reception was jam packed as this was where people colected their breakfast too. The breakfast, jam, egg, tea and bread was about the only good thing. Got told to come back at 12.00, having paid the 21 euros, plus a 20 deposit for the locker key.

iIdont expect the earth in a youth hostel, but i expect basic manners and any help/info. this was denied, No manners , plain rude and not interested in general courtesy or conversation. None of this applied to either of the asian guys behind the desk.

Previous review says its like a prison - they are not wrong. Rooms a block away, guy came in the room several times in night waving a torch - making everyone wake up and assume we were being burgled! They were quick to start changing the sheets etc the next morning at 10am even though we didnt have to be out til 10.30 and enjoyed shoving everyones property on the floor and generally annoying all and causing confusion and chaos. Again no manners or anything other than RUDENESS.

DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR - go elsewhere. it may be cheap, but its absolutlely horrible. Go to the flying pig or bulldog.

  • Liked — nothing other than a decent breakfast
  • Disliked — staff - rude!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

This hostel does not have much going on for it. Many of the rooms are
like a block away from the bar and front desk area (as in you have to leave the premisis and walk down the street). Difficult to meet people. It's a little like prison - everyone just shuts up and minds their own business. For $30 less, I could have stayed home and watched the paint dry on my walls.

Stay at the Flying Pig instead, just up the street - at least you'll have something to write home about.

  • Liked — The exit
  • Disliked — The entrance
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rappy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

We booked a 6 person room one month in advance and arrived promptly at our stated time as requested by the hostel. However, we were told the rooms were not ready upon our arrival. The staff told us to pay up first, go out and have fun, and that the rooms will be ready by the time we returned. If we don't pay up then, our booking will be cancelled. So we had no choice to pay up first before seeing the room.

By the time we returned at 10pm, we were being told that our room had been given away and we were allocated into a 10 person room. The staff at the hostel refused to offer a reasonable explanation for their actions, nor compensate for their incompetence. They told us we should not feel surprised that this sort of situation happens at their hostel. They told us we should expect such service by choosing to stay at a youth hostel and they say we can take it or leave it. They even told us to go to Hilton hotel if we had such high expectations. We were very angry with their unreasonable and rude attitude.

I must say we do not expect much for the price we pay. All we were requesting is a 6 person room as agreed in our booking and they could not even deliver such basic requirements. We have satisfied all their terms and conditions by arriving on time and paying up front, therefore I believe it is fair for me to say they disrespect their customers and the law of contract. If we had to share with other people, we could have chosen from other hostels. They maybe located at the heart of the city, but so do other hostels. For the price we were paying and the service we were getting, I do not see any reason to stay with them. I would NOT recommend Bob's Youth Hostel to anybody.

  • Liked — Nothing to be honest.
  • Disliked — Attitude of staff and booking system
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jessadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
#30 of 229 in Amsterdam
459 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 229 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#58 of 229 in Amsterdam
388 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing