We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #187 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my 18 year old sister for 2 nights, welcoming and helpful staff, everything was clean considering the amount of people per room, the lock boxes under the beds were safe enough but loud to open at night when everyone's asleep so had to sleep in my day clothes, with my camera and money next to me when we got in so as not disturb everyone. The only issue I really had was that when I asked to leave my camera with them at night they just plonked it in the back room and I had to ask them to ask for my name and bed number when I asked for it back. Could smoke green outside and in reception. Nice pub next door. All in all had a good stay, would go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    80
    114
    97
    128
See reviews for
3
19
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Let's be honest… some people have very high expectations when booking a budget hostel in the centre of a party town. I would suggest to ignore the reviews that scream at you to stay away. If you are very nervous, you could book yourself into a dearer hostel, however that might not necessarily be any better.

Honestly - Bob's was great! For a budget hostel in the centre of a party town.

Clean beds made up for you.

Clean toilet and bathroom in the dorm ensuite.

Great location.

Large lockers to store your things in (bring your own lock).

Helpful staff (one guy gave me some great advice after a bad trip on space cake in the middle of the night).

The all female dorm is on the first floor and has plenty of power points to charge your things.

Cheap beers.

The only down side is that there are some scary stairs if your room is higher up. That said, I think a lot of other hostels in the area have this problem (for example the White Tulip which I once stayed in and can only say "stay away from that one!"). Old buildings in an old city will have some scary stairs.

I have stayed in quite a few hostels and I think Bob's is great value for money and would highly recommend to a young traveller!

Room Tip: The all female dorm is on the first floor (less stairs to climb).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The location is a very big advantage. The beds and bathroom were not that tidy I would say 2 stars out of 5. No sockets to charge your phones. Except the location other things were bad. In Amsterdam who goes to sleep? Few hours of sleep is what you want. There are other better hostels near by you could try them. Bobs youth hostel, try it if you don't have any other option. There is a pub just beside called The Doors a must visit if you are rock fan.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 256sumeetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friends and I stayed here as traveller during July 2014.We had an awful time.

We had to climb death stairs to our room which was two blocks away from reception, it was filthy, dirty floor, stained sheets, dirty walls (mould and damp on them) and a stray cat was there when we opened the door, also the guy at reception gave us the wrong key- the one for our neighbours room - we could have stolen all their stuff! We asked for clean sheets and got damp/wet ones then asked for the room to be cleaned and it was not.

The rooms are literally a health hazard! Also, there was no point in complaining because a group before us informed us that when they complained the staff were just rude so we decided just to leave as soon as we could - the No refunds sign hinted we shouldn't even bother asking for our money back despite wasting it on a s-hole of a hostel.
Hair in the sink and toilet is not in the room also.
Ruined out trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The directions we were given were unclear and had us wandering around for ages. When we arrived the staff were unhelpful and not approachable. We stayed in a 12 bed mix dorm and the beds were damp and smelled. The showers were cold and wifi wasn't always assesable. Overall not worthy of the money spent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homeskillet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great location but that is the only positive. The staff make you feel like you are imposing on them when asking for help, the rooms have no air con or fan so get stuffy (especially when there are 16 beds) and the shower had no hot water. The prices were ridiculously inflated. Avoid unless other places are more expensive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Honestly anybody who writes a positive review on this hostel must actually work there. The WiFi was down the whole time, credit card machine..down, hot water...down, everything about this place was horrible. The shower and toilet are located in your dorm room, and the shower smells like rotten sewage. There was a build up of black sludge on one side of the shower that was there for the first 2 days of our stay. We were out of toilet paper for 2 days and when asked to get more they suggested we bring it up ourselves. The beds are hard foam resting on wire frames. Honestly I usually take negative reviews on here with a grain of salt but please let this warning save your Amsterdam trip. Unless you are in the private rooms you stay around the corner next to a seedy bar. Then, if you are lucky enough to get our room you only have to walk up 3 steep narrow stair cases not four. Terrible hostel...shame on you Bob

Room Tip: Don't choose any room here. Try the Flying Pig Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#173 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing