We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A KIP!!!! do not stay here!!!”
Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trianon Hotel
Ranked #372 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 February 2013

When we arrived at Hotel Trianon the first thing I noticed was that the room was freezing! It was extremely cold outside already so there was no reason for the heat in the room not to have been turned on before we were given the room.
I tried turning on the radiator and it wouldn't work. I then noticed that the carpet under the radiator and all under the bed was soaking from a leak in the bottom of radiator. I then had a look around the room and took the above pictures. The Head board was covered in stains ( I've no idea what) The carpet was manky and stained. The curtains on the window were covered in damp and stained. The windows themselves were rotting and the wood was falling off. One of the windows would not shut properly and i couldn't lock it.
The toilet had not been flushed!!! There is a grill in the bathroom on the ceiling...this was caked with grease! There was a stain on the tiles in the corner of the bathroom ( I can only imagine what this was) The whole room and bathroom reeked of Bleach!! The list goes on!

To say we were disappointed is a gross understatement. I am definitely not one for complaining at the drop of a hat and when i pay for 2* accommodation I normally don't be expecting the Ritz but the "Hotel" Trianon was a disgrace, was a health Hazard and not fit to keep animals in. If there is a Health and safety authority in Amsterdam then they should be reported immediately.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I booked this hotel through a travel agent and when I looked at the reviews after i was so scared I got travel Insurance for unhabitual accommodation just in-case... Well it was nothing like the reviews, wasn't very luxurious,but served its purpose and it was in a good location was clean NO BED BUGS, clean sheets and new towels every day we stayed.. all though it was small it was a nice hotel and the staff were so helpful. Brekkie was nice too....

Room Tip: we stayed on third floor had loads of cupboard space for our clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Hotel is situated in good area, easy to get from central st. Stuff is very relaxed so the service is not great. Rooms are ok. But it was very noisy in the night becasue of the people who return from parties..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank vladimir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Amsterdam
11
Reviewed 11 January 2013

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I thought this hotel was going to be terrible based on the reviews I've read previously. I went in a group of 5 people and the hotel was clean the staff were friendly and the tram stopped 20 seconds down the road.You could travel to the centre in around 25 minutes. Check out is at 11am but our flight wasn't until 9 so we asked the receptionist if we could keep the room until 6pm. They said the hotel was fully booked but if there was a room cancellation we could have that room until we leave for an extra 20 Euro which was very reasonable!
So forget all the other reviews you read here, coming from a me, a clean bed, private shower, and friendly staff is the best thing to get from a hotel and they had all 3!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thegz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Its hostal which rents some rooms on a hotel basis. Best thing the Beds were comfy. But the sheets looked as if they'd been on the floor. I had to dust it off. Location is à bit crap. Trams stop @ 11. Ive booked a 4 star hotel with gym thats way closer to Amsterdam centraal for cheaper than this 1star hostal. I regret booking it now.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

went to this hotel in nov 2012 for 4 days , omg we were there all of an hour and had to leave, the place stinks of damp, the lights did not work in room to start with paint peeling of walls and the room was tiny only had about a foot and a half to walk inbetween beds, beds are made of foam which i fell of when i lay down, that was final straw so we had to leave and we found a really nice friendly hotel to finnish our trip, i would never recomend to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudger433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 376 in Amsterdam
215 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
West Side Inn Hotel
#315 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,118 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#271 of 376 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#150 of 376 in Amsterdam
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £44 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing