We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone-Age”
Review of Trianon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trianon Hotel
Ranked #362 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I stopped at this hotel as we visited Amsterdam as we are fascinated by its culture and heritage

Granted, our trip was low in cost but even so, one expects certain basics which are completely neglected by this hotel. The beds, the cleanliness (poor) and the lack of decoration I could cope with. However, the breakfast was beyond basic even for such a budget hotel. We were greeted with rusks and orange 'squash'.

Fortunately, our experience in Amsterdam over-shadowed the unpleasantries of the hotel and in no way influenced our desire to return to the beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneVirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
There are newer reviews for Trianon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Moved rooms overnight without asking us, just lifted our stuff to another room when we were out and gave non warning whatsoever.


Hostel not a hotel, some poor graphics on the roof, moved to a room without a balcony bit, which was dissapointing as it was the only redeeming feature of the first room

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
3  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel was perfect! Our room was a typical sized European room, which is fine because it was spotless and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home with me. We had a corner room, so we had a great view of the Van Gogh museum, which is literally right down the street. Metro 5 and 16 are right next to the hotel as well and make it easy to get anywhere you need to in Amsterdam. The hotel staff was amazingly nice and helpful, and really helped us when we needed directions or an early taxi for the airport. The hotel was also very affordable and in a great neighborhood surrounded by great little shops and restaurants. The Van Gogh museum right down the street is also close to the Rijksmuseum, diamond museum,Stedlick modern art museum, and several other points of interest. There is a park right across from the hotel and Vondel Park is only a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast consisted of corn flakes, coffee, orange juice, breads, cheese, meats, boiled eggs, biscuits, and fruit cocktail and was very good. I really recommend staying here!

Room Tip: If you are able to get a corner room you are able to have great views of museumplein and great natur...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Narda M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very small space, though we had a standard room. Old curtains, poorly aired, so the room was very humid and soft. Breakfast is very poor, the hotel even doesn't have a toaster! Not worth money paid for the accomodation. Execellent location.
Best way to get to the airport - take bus 197 from Museumplein (stop juse near concertgebouw), takes 30 min (5eur) to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Екатерина М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A yearly weekend trip lets us discover for once a bad hotel experience.

NEGATIVES:
- The breakfast! how can you serve bread and jam but not provide a toaster? I'm not a child and I don't like a jam piece. There is cornflakes, yogurt, tinned fruit, ham, cheese and salami (not exactly continental breakfast)
- No air conditioning in the bathroom.
- Not CLEANING the bathroom (it contained limescale and grime).
- Skin issues (having a mattress old as van gough himself)
- Not providing extra pillows.
- Having a headboard, so I don't smash my head off the windowsill

These can make a huge difference to the trip and also to a return to the hotel.

POSITIVES:
- Location is right next to the Van Gough museum.
- Supermarket across the tramlines.
- It is in a up market residential area.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers and students NOT COUPLES or FAMILIES. Having seen what other Amsterdam hotels can offer. We will not be returning to the trianon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend and her brother and sister in law in april. Dreading the experience after reading reviews.
The hotel in a stones throw away from where the airport bus drops you off. Its opposite a lovely little park with a big supermarket. Van gough museum over the road.
When we arrived the guy on desk was very friendly and helpful.
Yes the rooms are dated and small but who cares. You dont sit in your room anyway. Bed was really comfy aswell. No bed bugs!!!
Tram stop no5 right outside. Take u everywhere. Lots of cafes and bars nearby. You can walk to centre in 15mins. Hotel wasnt noisy or smelly. And breakfast was reasonable for FREE!
All in all, not a bad little hotel. Great location and we came away perfectly happy!

Mike from Macclesfield

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mikerose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#267 of 371 in Amsterdam
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#300 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,926 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 3-7, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £50 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trianon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trianon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing