We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cosy Hotel in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #87 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Cosy Hotel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel has a lot of qualities, including the location near the Johnny Jordaan monument, along a canal from the golden age. It's one of the best two-stars hotel in this city. I was a guest in a small single room on the fourth floor, with a beautiful view of the roofs of Amsterdam on the rising sun.
This room is modern, well equipped and not so small, if you compare with what other 2* hotels propose. Special mention for the bathroom which is very clean and spacious. A little inconvenient is the absence of a mini fridge.
I don't have anything to complain about the staff of this family-run hotel. The included breakfast is copious and tasty, it's taken in a very luminous (eastern orientation), perfect to start the day in a good mood.
Safety is also taken seriously, at the entrance and with a personal safe in your room.
All of these come at a price, but if you stay more than three nights you can benefit from a 15 %, considerable reduction.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorPaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    409
    112
    16
    24
See reviews for
161
356
88
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

OK, the stairs on the right side of the hotel are STEEP, but the other side not so much...also the rooms that face the front of the hotel can be a little noisy sometimes, but the location, the staff & everything else about the place makes it one of the best values in amsterdam...we went with 2 other couples for 5 nites & we all agreed we would stay here again...i can't stress enough how convient this location is to stay in, literally can walk to everything...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

So it was expensive for the square footage - but that is Amsterdam. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

As other people have said, this hotel is quirky - the stairs have to be seen to be believed, but they were excellent preparation for our trip to the Anne Frank House! It felt as though you were staying in someone's home, rather than a 'McHotel'.
This was one of very few hotels I found which offered four-person rooms, which made it a good value stay for us and our teenage children. Our room was right at the top with four twin/single beds and a view over the rooftops. The mattresses seemed new and the linen was very clean.
Don't be put off by the €220 price per room (for four of us per night) - at least this hotel isn't charging extra for breakfast, wifi etc like all the others seem to be, and it is so centrally located that we walked to all of the tourist 'must sees' so saved on transport costs too.
The resident dog was very friendly, but was extremely well trained and did not bother us.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel's breakfast room is on the corner of two canals - it used to be a coffee shop and we sat eating our breakfast (which was basic but plentiful - cereals, toast, fruit, cold meats and hard boiled eggs) and watched everyone going to work on their bikes ... we could have lingered for hours, but we had a list of sights to see. You definitely get a flavour of life in the centre of Amsterdam from a stay at this hotel. We would all highly recommend it, and we would go back there very happily.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is the second time I have stayed here but my partner has been twice more.
We could not fault the hotel and service and we stayed with our other friends,their first visit to the hotel.
The stay was over Pride weekend for 3 nights ans we had requested rooms overlooking the canal for the parade on theSaturday ,which we got.
These rooms are large and furnished with old style fittings,as compliments the rest of the hotel.Since we were there last year there are new plasma T.V's and new curtains and bedding.
This is not a cheap hotel but it is all to do with the location which is in a lovely safe part of Amsterdam with exclusive shopping on the 9 streets which are opposite and also handy for local supermarkets,wine shops and delicious bakeries and ice cream shops..
Breakfast is basic continental but more than enough and buffet is served in abright and cheery ground floor room where you can watch life passing by in all guises.The only thing that would be nice is the addition of yoghurt to the buffet and maybe some nicer pastries and small cakes.
As mentioned it is not our first visit and the staff remembered us.The reception staff were all charming and helpful especially Denise.The ladies who do the breakfast and service the rooms went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Marta for letting us chill our wine and supplying ice for our party on the Saturday.
Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel if you like somewhere old fashioned and homely but be warned of the very steep stairs and no lift...you need to be fit.

Hope to return next year if not sooner and hope Taz the dog is still around for our daily stroke and a dog chew from home..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We picked our hotels by the pictures on the websites, and we were pleased with the first two hotels we stayed in (Paris, Delft). However, when we saw the room- it was a "family room"- in the Wiechmann, we were in shock. The hotel pictures showed lovely rooms filled with antiques. Our room was barren, to say the least- no headboards for the four beds which were maybe 16 inches apart, white walls with no pictures, utilitarian closet which wouldn't hold 4 people's things, a tiny round table shoved into a corner with the tv above it so that not all 4 people could even view it, 2 tiny bedside tables. We were on the second floor overlooking inside walls and a floor above the kitchen so we woke each morning to the sound of dishes as they prepared breakfast.
We had to pay 20 euros for the key, which we didn't mind except that one key for 4 people is really difficult and there was no extra key option.
On the plus side- the various desk people were very friendly, courteous and helpful. It rained during our visit and the downstairs lobby was lovely (as pictured) and big enough for several people so we spent some time there (avoiding the room) and met several very friendly guests. We also like the location- quiet and not very touristy, but close enough to everything.
However, if we had seen the room we were receiving beforehand we would have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie34043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely hotel, good location. Can walk to all the main sites. Trams are easy to use, and cheap - 7 euros for a 24 hour pass. The ticket also allowed us to use the metro (we went to the Take That concert at the Ajax Arena).
We had a lovely room on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal. A bit noisy at night, ok if you are happy to sleep with the windows closed, no problem for us as it wasn't hot during our stay, in fact it mainly rained - don't forget your umbrella!
Breakfast plentiful, food and drinks always quickly topped up by the hard working staff. Typical continental breakfast provided of bread, ham, cheese, egg, jams, cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
Reception staff always friendly. Safe provided in room.
Stairs steep, as expected, but managed fine with our bags. Glad that we didn't have to carry our bags up and down each time we came in and went out!!
One tip for the hotel - please provide toilet brushes!!
If we visit Amsterdam again, we would stay at the Wiechmann.

Room Tip: Room 240 is lovely and has a canal view. If you need to sleep with open windows you may find room no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#122 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,002 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
854 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 367 in Amsterdam
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing