We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #86 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Location was perfect. Staff was really helpful and friendly. I loved the building. So much character, it was fun exploring. Only reason I gave it 4/5 is because our bed was not so comfortable. It was short and the mattress was not good. Also, it's cool the buffet breakfast was included but was not great. However, the sitting area where you eat is really quaint - it's in the corner part of their hotel. Great view of the streets/canals. We stayed in a room away from the street so it was really nice and quiet. Their dog is AWESOME. He's adorable and super friendly. We were walking distance to everything we wanted to see, including the Anne Frank House and the Van Gogh Museum. High recommend !! Also loved the shower (we got a bathroom with a real shower head!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is a charming, affordable hotel in a great location. The room & bathroom was of decent size. The room was clean & the housekeeping staff did a great job every day. The staff was friendly and helpfu. I love that the family dog lives there and greeted the guests every day. The thing to be aware of is that the steps are steep and depending on where your room is located you may have a lot of steps to climb. The breakfast was good: fresh fruit, toast, eggs, cereal, juice, coffee & tea, etc.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty doing a lot of steps you may want to ask for a room on a lower floor. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Lovely hotel. Spacious twin room with traditional furniture overlooking canal it is lovely to watch Amsterdam go by after a day sight seeing with a well deserved cuppa. Great location. Breakfast could do with a bit more variety but was still OK. Friendly dog "guards" reception!! The steep stairs are to be expected as it is a canal house but it can be hard getting suitcases up them. The reception has various cards giving discounts at several tourist attractions. This hotel helped made our trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbagscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for on my recent leisure trip to Amsterdam. I wanted something that was more like a guest house than a hotel, with a lot of uniqueness and charm, in a good location within walking distance of the major tourist sites -- and it didn't disappoint.

The Wiechmann is not a 5-star hotel - if that's what you are looking for, you'd better book the Marriott or Crowne Plaza. This is a charming 3-4 star hotel that is the result of 3 historic canal-houses that have been connected together. The stairs are steep and narrow, the wooden floors creak, the decor is eclectic, and I loved it!

The hotel is located on the outermost canal ring, the Prinsengracht canal. It's an easy 5 minute walk from the nearest tram stop, which from there you can also easily get to the Centraal train station and the Amsterdam Schipol airport. The "neighborhood" was very lovely and I felt very safe as I walked around. From the hotel, I walked almost everywhere in the central tourist district of Amsterdam, but took the tram sometimes just to save time (or my feet!).

The hotel had a nice sitting area in the main reception area, and if you were lucky, the friendly family dog, Taz, would be there to say hello and ask for a belly rub :) There was also a lounge with comfy chairs, a small bar, a TV and a book exchange table. Although I never used it, there was also an internet computer available for guests upon request.

The breakfast room was absolutely charming, sitting on the corner of the building, with lovely window views looking out over two canals (one on the front of the building, and the other on the side). It's easy to see that the breakfast room used to be a cafe. It was a pleasure to watch the comings and goings of the Amsterdammers as they went about their daily life while I was eating my breakfast :) The breakfast itself (which was included in the price of the room) was very satisfactory, with an assortment of cereals, fresh fruit, breads, jams, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, juices, milk and coffee/tea.

I had a standard-sized single room on the 3rd floor, with a large window overlooking the Prinsengracht canal in front of the hotel. The view was stunning, it was the quintessential view of Amsterdam that I was so eager to see -- and I was even happier to have the view right out my room. My room was not lush, but it was clean, sufficient and functional. I had a large double bed (maybe it was a queen?) which was comfortable and had nice linens with a thick coverlet. The room also had a nice, small flat-screen TV mounted to the wall, a small wall-safe (which wasn't big enough for my laptop or my Kindle, but was perfect for my passport, extra cash, keys, etc.), a heater under the window, and also a freestanding electrical air-conditioner. The bathroom was somewhat small, but it was perfectly fine for one person, and all of the facilities were updated and clean. The room didn't come with a hairdryer, but the front desk was happy to loan me one during my stay. The entire hotel had complimentary wireless internet access, and I had no problems accessing it from my room -- which was a nice bonus.

The staff of the hotel were friendly and accommodating. They assisted me with directions and touristic recommendations, they printed some airline boarding passes for me, and they arranged a very early morning taxi back to the airport for me. There was also a slight discrepancy with my rate when I checked-out, and they proactively contacted me before I'd even arrived back home in the States with a resolution.

The only thing I can say negative about this hotel is that the walls and ceilings/floors were fairly thin, so I could hear most of what my neighbors were saying and doing in their rooms -- but this is something I would expect in a historical guest house. Also, although I'm very happy that my room overlooked the canal, the downside was having to deal with the noise. Amsterdam doesn't have many cars, but it does have people who are out and about at all hours of the night walking along the canals -- and the sound from their talking and laughter was amplified by the water of the canals and the buildings surrounding them like a canyon. So, because of the "street noise" and the chatter of other hotel guests, I found that the best way to sleep was with ear plugs. Also, although the steep stairs didn't bother me at all, this might be a detractor for someone who is mobility challenged or has a lot of large/heavy luggage to carry.

Overall, this hotel was perfect for me. It was precisely the experience I was looking for during my visit to Amsterdam and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to others planning to visit the city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canals have a lovely view, but are more noisy. If you want a quiet room, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Wiechmann in a quad room. The location is perfect and was easy to get to using public transportation from the airport. The room was simple. The bathroom was TINY. The stairs were STEEP! Imagine climbing a ladder with your suitcase. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and not looking for any frills.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Located overlooking one of Amsterdam's many canals, the Hotel Wiechmann is in an historical canal building. Our family of four stayed in a 2nd-floor, canal-view "family room", which was absolutely gigantic--so big in fact that when I first walked in, I thought a mistake had been made! High ceilings, creaky hardwood floors, antique wardrobe, huge bathroom. The main room had a king bed and the annex room, with sliding leaded-stained glass divider doors, had two twins for the kids. The tall windows overlooking Prinsengracht street had blackout curtains, which was nice to block out the streetlights. There was some street noise but nothing out of the ordinary; A LOT of people in Amsterdam ride bikes, which of course are quieter than cars. The kids loved the hotel dog, Taz, who was a sweetheart. Breakfast was adequate but there was no cooked food such as eggs or meats--just the basics like toast, fruit, cereal and coffee/tea. The dining room is decorated with Delftware (?) and looks out onto the street, so it was a nice spot to watch the city wake up and commute to school or work by bike. The hotel is a few walkable blocks away from most attractions and as a result has a down-to-earth vibe, very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Canal view family rooms are spacious, but somewhat expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel has a lot of qualities, including the location near the Johnny Jordaan monument, along a canal from the golden age. It's one of the best two-stars hotel in this city. I was a guest in a small single room on the fourth floor, with a beautiful view of the roofs of Amsterdam on the rising sun.
This room is modern, well equipped and not so small, if you compare with what other 2* hotels propose. Special mention for the bathroom which is very clean and spacious. A little inconvenient is the absence of a mini fridge.
I don't have anything to complain about the staff of this family-run hotel. The included breakfast is copious and tasty, it's taken in a very luminous (eastern orientation), perfect to start the day in a good mood.
Safety is also taken seriously, at the entrance and with a personal safe in your room.
All of these come at a price, but if you stay more than three nights you can benefit from a 15 %, considerable reduction.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorPaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#26 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#114 of 372 in Amsterdam
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £100 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing