We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Ranked #89 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is very cozy and comfortable and when you compare it with some of the other hotels in the same area it is a terrific value. We had one of the back bedrooms with no canal view. But it was charming & spacious with a desk /chair and two additional chairs. The beds are perfect! The room was completely quiet at night. There's no air conditioning but the windows open providing plenty of fresh air and a nice breeze.
The breakfast is generous with much to choose from. I especially appreciated the Dutch Spice Bread and the breakfast room has a fantastic view of the canals. What a great way to start each day!
The location could not have been better. Everything was walking distance yet it felt like a real neighborhood too.
The staff all go out of their way to be helpful and have lots of good advice.
NOTE: The stairs are steep but the staff will kindly take your suitcases up & down.
We would definitely return to The Wiechmann!
Our one request is that espresso be available for breakfast. It's currently available only afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    413
    116
    16
    24
See reviews for
167
361
88
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I, plus our college-age daughter and son, took an 8 night trip to Belgium and the Netherlands in June 2014. We were in Amsterdam for three nights at the Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The location was probably perfect, sitting on the intersection of two canals, in the center of all the tourist sites, but in a basically quiet area with many restaurants and brown cafés. In 20 minutes or less, you could walk to just about every place you’d want to see in the city. Since we were travelling by car, we parked at the Park+Ride and took the tram to closest stop (more on that later).
We paid €733 for three nights for a family room on the 1st floor overlooking Prinsengracht canal (see photo). It had a double and two twin beds, lots of storage and original detail. The hotel appears to be 3 canal houses that were fused together as one. Our room was directly above the main lobby and entrance, but we never had an issue with noise from below. The bedrooms were probably the main parlor and ante-parlor of this floor with a windowed pocket door between the two rooms. The floor creaked and squeaked with every step. The bathroom was modern and very large, but had a wet floor shower – which basically was an indoor puddle by the time the 4th person took a shower.
There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast (included), there was a typical European buffet – juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, tea and coffee in tiny cups, cold cuts and cheese. The best part of breakfast was watching the buzz of bicyclists outside the huge windows going about their business – to work, daycare, running errands, and (probably) returning home from clubbing the night before!
In general, I would say the property is a bit worn down but curiously eclectic in its decorations.

On parking, I read you could pay an arm and leg to park in the city and risk an accident trying to drive in the city, making the P+R highly attractive. Now with experience, while the former may be true, I would disagree with the latter. On the way to the hotel, we opted for the P+R (€1/day!) and attempted to get to the hotel by tram. We needed to switch lines to avoid a 20 minute walk with luggage to the hotel, but transferring meant navigating to the next corner of the very busy square during rush hour. After dragging our bags over cobbled streets and barley missing the next tram in our direction, we gave up and took a taxi for €8. On the final day, I went to the P+R by tram on my own, got the car, and picked up the family in front of the hotel. Driving was easier than advertised and I would recommend that plan for anyone with a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cool, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was on the corner of the first floor. The room was very spacious and there was a nice deep tub in the bathroom. The young man who checked us in was the most helpful and outgoing of all the staff we encountered.

The hotel has no air-conditioning and without the windows open, it would have been very uncomfortable to sleep. And since our windows faced the canal, it was very noisy with them open. This street seems to always be busy! In the 2 days we were there, I got very little good sleep.

Also, typical of Amsterdam, the interior stairways are steep and treacherous.

The decor was a combination of nice old antiques, many with rather worn upholstery, and very dated, worn carpet and tacky bedspreads.

The breakfast was meager at best. We ate out the first morning but made due with boiled eggs and toast the 2nd morning.

While nothing was awful, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed two nights in this charming hotel in the canal district of Amsterdam. This was the perfect introduction to Europe for my husband. We had a corner room on the first floor overlooking the canals (the steps are very steep and narrow and not suitable for people with walking problems and large suitcases can be trying). The hotel was perfect. Opening the french doors you could watch Amsterdam go by at your feet with views down the Prinsengracht canal in both directions and several streets as well! It was a little noisy as people wandered home from a night out, but the position of the room well and truly made up for this. Close to all major tourist attractions. Breakfasts were excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The bathroom was small, but adequate. This is an older style hotel, but if you want character and charm in Amsterdam this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the corner - go for one of them if you want to watch the world go by at your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
You were lovely guests to have! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved this hotel. The location is awesome! We had a view of the canal and it was fun to look out at what was going on. We were 10 minutes from the Ann Frank house. The breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room was really cool. We loved talking to the owner and he would answer any questions we had. The place was very clean. Great find!

Room Tip: Awesome hotel. Get a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amreding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
You are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleby Barwick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Weichmann. Location is excellent, extremely clean inside and out. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We were in Room 307 which is the one with balcony (check out front view photos). Would stay there again and would definitely recommend it to friends. Breakfast was basic but very good quality, staff couldn't do enough to help you. There is also a nice bar close to the hotel (turn left from the front door). Shame the hotel doesn't have its own bar. No complaints really. Well done management.

Room Tip: Choose 307 - fabulous room with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervtheswerve1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you much for your review, much appreciated.

Regards,

John B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pieced together from three canal houses, the hotel is really an interesting collection. Our room was very nice even though we opted for a back room without a street view. The street view rooms must be spectacular.

The hotel is very clean, and in excellent shape. If you have heavy luggage, keep in mind that elevators are strangers in these older houses. That's the only downside.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices, fresh and tasty.

We checked in on a Sunday when the staff is very much the "B" team. Not too helpful, knowledgable or interested in being of service. And apparently, several of the maid staff took and unannounced "holiday" and our room wasn't ready until about 6pm. Since we'd been up at about 2am, we failed to appreciate this.

During the week, the owner man's the desk and the employees pay much more attention to their jobs.

If you stay, don't forget to scratch the dog in the front lobby. He's a gem. Just like the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiechmann, Owner at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for the heads-up. I talked to my "B-team" , next time when you're here they will be better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,011 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#126 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 368 in Amsterdam
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 328-332 | Prindengracht 328 - 332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfy family hotel in the center of Amsterdam on one of the nicest corners in town. Clean and friendly, a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing