We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very average stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Ranked #273 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Been there last December, expected something different than what i seen.Well, the reception wasn't warm and felt that he doesn't want to talk to residents/toursits, the rooms were ok, breakfast was ok, noisy a little bit, next to the street, best of it is the location, cleaning person was nice and the place is clean. Generally it is ok for 3 star hotel. i wouldn't rate it more than average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aymen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I was staying here with my hubby for 3 nights. We are a young couple and wanted to be in walking distance to the city! The location of the hotel is great, also the price! We got our room on the top floor (we requested a high level when we booked online). The room is quite clean, even though bit dated. Our room was facing the street, of which I've heard it can be real noisy! It wasn't too bad for us, not sure if that is because we were on the top level or because I'm just not too fussed about the noise. Thing I wasn't Happy much at all were the matresses! Extremely soft and sunk in in the middle! Not very comfortable!! If you look for something cheap and close to the city and are not too fussed about the hotel all being fancy schmancy this is fine!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Evi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

So i chose this hotel during my visit to amsterdam because i wanted a budget hotel just for good night sleep.

The hotel is a 10 minutes drive by taxi from the Centraal station.

it is a 3 star hotel with petit rooms and all basic facilities that are needed to live in a hotel.

one of the best thing about its location is that it is located only about 20-30 meters away from a tram/bus stop called "Raamplein". Up to 3 types of buses carry you straight to the centraal station without a change. so thats good.


as for the hotel, it is indeed a very basic hotel with basic necessities. the average room is quiet small and cramped, with also petit bathroom.

Though i must say the FREE WIFI was a great gift!

reception people are always helpful, (they changed everyday :O).. at the back of the reception desk is the breakfast area, for a surcharge of 10 Euros you could get it. while the coffee machine is at the guests disposal free of charge.

One of the most popular services was the vending machine which had chocolate drinks and importantly WATER, yes i had purchased water everyday of my stay. for 2.5 Euros per bottle.

the hotel gave off a dodgy and depressive feeling with poor illumination and lack of soundproof walls by which you could hear all noises from your neighbours.

overall, a budget hotel but i wouldn't stay there again, the atmosphere is just dodgy.

Room Tip: all are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

First impression on entering the hotel wasn't great however the room was very clean, bed comfortable and bathroom immaculate with a great power shower. Reception staff were very helpful. Location was also very good, 2 minute walk to Leidesplein where there are a number of eating and drinking places, about 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square and 15-20 minute walk to the Heineken brewery and museums.
Only downside was the noise, could hear other people in the hotel very easily, we stayed in room 8 and were awakened on several occasions with other guests going past the door, using the lift and going up and down the stairs, however ear plugs soon rectified this!
Overall the hotel is good value for money compared to other hotels in the city and the room/bathroom very clean. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel upstairs. Bring earplugs for a fantastic sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louanne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Staff helpful & not over "false" friendly, they will just answer and help if you ask. Breakfast is good, hot and lots of choice, Rooms are nice, Clean & comfy... but we stayed in a "back of hotel" room which noise-wise was fine... our friends had the front thinking that if necessary they could use the balcony to have a ciggie... but one said the noise was awful so they couldn't sleep & it was so bad one night they would give us their cigs to sleep!... the other would sleep through anything and it wasnt a nuisance. But, personally if you can choose I would ask for a back room then the only noise you might hear are late night partiers coming in. Overall - hotel is nice and we would recommend it for a Clean and Decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just an average hotel, ordinary rooms and perfect for short stays. Stairs a bit narrow but thats the only bad thing i can say. A little discrete coffeeshop right opposite which was quite nice to wake up to in the morning, just a pop right over the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#317 of 373 in Amsterdam
373 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#106 of 373 in Amsterdam
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 373 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#208 of 373 in Amsterdam
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Amsterdam

Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £63 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris is the most ideal hotel for you if you are travelling to Amsterdam for party night, celebration, pub crawl or just for fun evenings. The hotel is ocated in the heart of the city, just 3 minutes walk away from Amsterdam's top entertainment district Leidseplein. Bus to Schiphol Airport and tram to central station is few hundred meters away. The hotel is also very ideal for museum lovers. Amsterdam's most famous museums; van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum, Anne Frank House, Diamond museum all are located within 10-12 minutes walking distance from the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathrooms and quality room amenities. Free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and throughout the hotel. Grab a freshly brewed coffee or a hot cup of tea at any time at the reception. A continental breakfast with wide range of choice is served every morning. The surrounding area provides many different options for places to eat. From restaurants for dinner to smaller cafes for breakfast, there are several places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing