We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #300 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went here on a stag do not so long ago, not to far from the train station 10mins walk, about 10-15mins walk to most of the bars so ok on that front!

Rooms - very clean tidy not bad for the price.

Food - missed breakfast due to being hungover so cannot comment!

Staff - very pleasant and helpful.

All in all good stay would go back again if i ever went to Amsterdam in the future, obviously the price would have to be right as i wouldn't over pay for this place!

Room Tip: Nice view from the front of the hotel i suppose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    99
    132
    65
    75
See reviews for
48
124
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I joined a friend who already was in this hotel and stayed only one night with him. From my point of view, Rooms are small but seem to be clean, The breakfast was ok, and location is quite convenient. People here are talking about the price, well, this hotel is a simple hotel near the city center, this why it's not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is true that the location is pretty good, 10 minutes to walk to Dam Square, very close to the Amsterdam Maritime History Museum, 3-4 minutes walking distance. Rooms are very small with very tiny bathroom, at least the one we had. Very comfy bed. The room was on the forth floor, close to the elevator. The rooms are not really sound proof. We heard everyone walking by our door, as the floors are very squeaky. Every time the door opened in the room next to ours, I was convince someone walked into our room the sound was that loud. If the lovely tourists decide to listen to music at 8 in the morning you will surely wake up at the same time they turn on the music.
Up side big screen TV.
Heard bad reviews related to the breakfast. If you do not book a room with breakfast and decide to get breakfast afterwards, it costs 12 euro.
My suggestion is to book rooms without breakfast. Amsterdam has a lot of little restaurants on the side of the canals close by the hotel where breakfast and brunch are served.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not a great fan of hotels generally as they're way too expensive. This place was no exception but have no complaints about the price and although the room was rather small it was clean. View not spectacular but I guess that's extra too! The breakfast was fine, typical conti stuff plus all the ham and cheese you can eat so you can make a butti for lunch too (I did!). Staff wer VERY helpful and me and my Mrs had a great time. I love Amsterdam and now so does she!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
260 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Close to the location I had to visit, this hotel was a bad surprise: very noisy, a cold room, many problems with the light and with the shower, ultra basic breakfast. It is not worth the price I paid.
The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Decent location - once you know how you can walk to Dam Square. Was on the more dingy side of the street however and with grocery store within walking distance. The electricity went - the fuse box was located in the toilet so that they had to come and fix that. Otherwise clean room. Basic breakfast. Was not impressed with the concierge - they seemed unwilling to return my 5 euros deposit for using adaptor and generally were no very courteous. You should not spend more than 50-75 euro per night/per person to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Shireen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ok hotel - Amsterdam isn't cheap but to be fair this hotel offered a very reasonable rate :) Be warned the parking next door is very expensive - about £45 for 2 nights but tbh parking in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere!

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but the room was really nice - bit pokey but it was fine for the 2 nights we stayed (I'm not sure if I could handle a week though!)

Location is fab - about a 10 min walk from Dam Square

I would go back too :)

Room Tip: If you call/email the hotel before you travel they will reserve a car parking space for you next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library Amsterdam
Hotel Library Amsterdam
#187 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#233 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#179 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Property: Falcon Plaza Hotel
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing