We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm and good location”
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #303 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the Falcon Plaza! Staff is friendly, the hotel is warm, clean, beds are comfy and the TV is flat screen and huge! Tea and coffee facilities are available in the room and there is good complimentary WiFi. You can reach the main station opposite Dam square in 15/20 min walk, from there there is a train to Schipol airport for only 4.50 euro per person each way, don't take shuttles, expensive and not worth it. There are some good places to have breakfast just outside the hotel and also a supermarket if you are travelling on a budget. I walked everywhere so location is a plus! I stayed midweek and got a great deal! Book on the hotel website and get an extra discount! Enjoy Amsterdam, beautiful architecture and atmosphere! If you wish to discover the surroundings, just get a daily 10 euro bus pass and travel anywhere for 24 hours! I reccomend Volendam, Dorp and Marken, just half an hour from the main station. They are all lovely traditional villages! Don't buy the bus pass at the tourist office, they will charge you an extra fee, cheeky! Bring cash with you since in many places cards are not accepted or a fee might apply. Most importantly remember that many public toilets in Holland come with a charge from 20 to 50 cents, take change with you and look after your bludder lol! Enjoy!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Londoner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Although a little expensive, and rooms small ( although we're like hobbits so it's not a issue) it's clean and the staff are lovely. Don't be put off by the outside either. It's in a good location, it's quite and just far enought away from the main traffic. Never tried the breakfast so can't comment. This is our 4th time here. And will be back again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went here on a stag do not so long ago, not to far from the train station 10mins walk, about 10-15mins walk to most of the bars so ok on that front!

Rooms - very clean tidy not bad for the price.

Food - missed breakfast due to being hungover so cannot comment!

Staff - very pleasant and helpful.

All in all good stay would go back again if i ever went to Amsterdam in the future, obviously the price would have to be right as i wouldn't over pay for this place!

Room Tip: Nice view from the front of the hotel i suppose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I joined a friend who already was in this hotel and stayed only one night with him. From my point of view, Rooms are small but seem to be clean, The breakfast was ok, and location is quite convenient. People here are talking about the price, well, this hotel is a simple hotel near the city center, this why it's not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is true that the location is pretty good, 10 minutes to walk to Dam Square, very close to the Amsterdam Maritime History Museum, 3-4 minutes walking distance. Rooms are very small with very tiny bathroom, at least the one we had. Very comfy bed. The room was on the forth floor, close to the elevator. The rooms are not really sound proof. We heard everyone walking by our door, as the floors are very squeaky. Every time the door opened in the room next to ours, I was convince someone walked into our room the sound was that loud. If the lovely tourists decide to listen to music at 8 in the morning you will surely wake up at the same time they turn on the music.
Up side big screen TV.
Heard bad reviews related to the breakfast. If you do not book a room with breakfast and decide to get breakfast afterwards, it costs 12 euro.
My suggestion is to book rooms without breakfast. Amsterdam has a lot of little restaurants on the side of the canals close by the hotel where breakfast and brunch are served.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not a great fan of hotels generally as they're way too expensive. This place was no exception but have no complaints about the price and although the room was rather small it was clean. View not spectacular but I guess that's extra too! The breakfast was fine, typical conti stuff plus all the ham and cheese you can eat so you can make a butti for lunch too (I did!). Staff wer VERY helpful and me and my Mrs had a great time. I love Amsterdam and now so does she!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Close to the location I had to visit, this hotel was a bad surprise: very noisy, a cold room, many problems with the light and with the shower, ultra basic breakfast. It is not worth the price I paid.
The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#107 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,825 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hyatt Regency Amsterdam
Hyatt Regency Amsterdam
#32 of 372 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#176 of 372 in Amsterdam
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 372 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel de Jonker
Hotel de Jonker
#245 of 372 in Amsterdam
4 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#5 of 372 in Amsterdam
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £134 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing