We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay at this hotel”
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Ranked #305 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of may. The staff are unhelpful bordering on rude. The safe didn't work and the duty receptionist could not have cared less , as it turned out it didn't matter because the safe was just loose in a wardrobe so any burglar could have made off and broke into it at his leisure. The free wifi didn't work. The room smelt musty and the bathroom was old and noisy. The breakfasts are basic with what I consider cheap ingredients. It was also expensive and when I complained my complaint was met with "a fau concerned shrug". O yes the coffee at breakfast isn't bad. This is without a doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in thank goodness it was only for 2 nights

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Falcon Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel is relatively clean, but it is far from the centre of Amsterdam. also far from central station, you have to use public transport to get around. the staff was ok, we had no issues checking in or out. the room was very basic, a bit small. breakfast was not bad, good selection.

I think its expensive for the service they are providing. you can definitely find cheaper hotels in better locations in Amsterdam offering better value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hubrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and the first positive aspect is its location. Well situated in central amsterdam with a bus stop a close walking distant. Take bus nb 9 and u are at the heart of amsterdam. Room was ok but cleaning service needs major improvement. Breakfast selection included cheese ham cereal juices and coffee. We have no idea why one day they decided to charge us for breakfast although our reservation was on a b&b basis, but then we cleared it out with the reception. One last thing, watch out for the city taxes you have to pay once you check in as they are not quoted in reservation rate

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Layal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for my birthday weekend (Friday to Monday) easy to find, brilliant location and staff are friendly and so helpful, luggage storage which was great because we arrived before check in which meant we didn't have to carry our cases round with us)
However, on arrival after already paying for the hotel online we were told we had to pay an extra €47 due to taxes, when we got into our 4 person room ( #006) it was a good size room but didn't have windows that opened so it was very stuffy, bathroom had a funny smell, cleaning staff didn't take out the rubbish and was left in a pile by the door, wifi wasn't working while we were there. Breakfast was lovely, can't fault it lots of choice. Tv was huge but only English channels were tlc and Comedy Central which just kept playing the same thing on repeat. For a short break in amsterdam I would stay here again and recommend to a friend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It was very clean,the staff were friendly, and it was in a great location for getting around amsterdam. Room was slightly small and was had basic facilities and decorations- everything seemed slightly-outdated apart from the huge TV. Double bed was two singles side by side and there was a mysterious hole in the floor patched up by iron wool.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flohugh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel in late March. Due to the International Nuclear Summit in Amsterdam it was very difficult to get a hotel room but I succeed getting one at the Falcon Plaza.
The hotel is situated very central in Amsterdam and has a very friendly staff.
However these positive issues does not make up for a very disappointing experience.
The room I got (room # 100) must have been the smallest room in the hotel – only slightly bigger than a closet.
The bathroom was very small and it did not have any ventilation of any kind – other than leaving the door open. This fact combined with the fact that the window in the main room only had single glazing with dew building up making the entire room feeling very damp. Needless to say that various forms of mildew could be seen on the bathroom tiles.
I can state as a fact that I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: In any case room number 100 should be avoided
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 806,262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff at falcon plaza were extremely helpful and so nice and friendly. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel is in a great destination walking distance to the red light district. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#286 of 371 in Amsterdam
477 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,794 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#326 of 371 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hyatt Regency Amsterdam
Hyatt Regency Amsterdam
#44 of 371 in Amsterdam
145 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#225 of 371 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#184 of 371 in Amsterdam
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing