We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location but small room”
Review of Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden Hotel
Ranked #135 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but small room”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent for people wanting a quiet and safe stay in Amsterdam. A 20 minute walk to the centre of the city with some excellent cafes and restaurants near by.

The room however is small. Not suitable for those with a lot of luggage or those wanting to to work whilst in the hotel (no desk etc). The sound proofing is also not fully adequate with people making noise whist walking past your room.

For the price we paided however (~ £60 per night ) it was very fair. We cannot comment on the breakfast however. The staff were also helpful and present 7am -11pm.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    166
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
36
162
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The rooms are too small but clean, the conditions for work (with laptop) are non-existend. The breakfast is a symbolic one for the price it costs. For business travellers not a good choice. The walls noise isolation is quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Linden Hotel is located in a very beautiful position, on a quite canal. The rooms are quite small, as well as the bathroom, but it is clean and not so expensive as the other hotels in Amsterdam.
The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast; you have to pay € 12 for n. 1 croissant with a sppon of marmelade and 1 slice of salami + 1 of cheede and 1 egg ( I don't like those kind of things for breakafst) and iIcouldn't choose from a buffet.
THAT'S WHY I SUGGEST TO SLEEP THERE BUT WITHOUT CHOOSING THE BREAKFAST INCLUDED ( THERE'S A BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL ITSELF).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

we booked this hotel by internet and we choiced this place to be in famous localisation of Jordaan. when we arrived, reception was perfect. The boss gives some advices to visiting Amsterdam City and about transports. We have two bedrooms : first for two adults and second one for familiy (2+2). It s true that bedrooms are small, but we are in Amsterdam ... Seriously, siez is not a real problem for few nights but bathrooms are not very larges. More important : bedding are perfect, there are no noise, we don't have cold.
Advice : if you booked breakfeast the day before, you pay less
In conclusion : I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rafale136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A late booking for a conference in a week when Amsterdam was busier than usual, this turned out to be a well-priced alternative to the gouging prices of hotels, which were running at over 300€ (compared to 124€) per night.

Quite a distance (15/20 mins walk) from Dam Square, Raadhuis and the Damrak, the hotel isn't easy to locate due to a cumbersome street numbering system if not arriving by taxi. Also it's an unusually narrow triangular shape; space is a premium from start to finish.

My allocated room was perfectly presented and spotless. However being on the ground floor, with a floor-to-ceiling shopfront style window, meant curtains had to be drawn for privacy. It also meant there was late night and early morning pedestrian and traffic noise.

The evening receptionist was very friendly but his daytime colleagues were a little less so although their level of service was no less courteous.

I booked breakfast for one day only and the prepared plate of pastries, cold meats, cheese and condiments (the breakfast area being tiny, there is clearly no room for a buffet) was generous and tasty; reasonable value at 10€ when pre-booked.

Good value but would I stay again? In similar circumstances, perhaps (you know what you can expect, and that's fair value) but on the whole it's a tad too far from the main drag.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msafiri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of this hotel was great. Slightly outside of the city centre, but only a 5-10 minute walk will get you back in the thick of it. The rooms are confortable, although a little noisy where we were. Wooden stairs go right past the rooms and you could hear people walking up and down. Complementary Pringles in the room were nice little treat though!

We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel, which was about 12 euros for continental, and instead we headed to the market right by the hotel, which had a delicious array of sweet and savoury snacks. Nutella waffle followed by a punnet of fresh strawberries for us both cost just under 10 euros! Delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFudgeCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Here's the context for my review: the weekend I spent in Amsterdam, every other hotel I would consider (ie 3-star in good locations) was 900 Euros; the Linden was 600. Is it the best hotel I've ever stayed in? No. But I think it does a very good job at its pricepoint. Pros: 1) quiet, safe location on small streets very close to boutiques and restaurants (I am not the one to ask about bars or nightlife); friendly and helpful staff; 2) immaculately clean and bright; 3) comfortable bed; 4) good shower pressure; 5) good design and cheerful decor.
Mixed: 1) It's true the rooms are small, but the furniture is small, too, so it doesn't overwhelm the space available. I was traveling on my own, too; I do think you might find this room crowded if you were a very large person (small shower area) or if there are two of you. 2) It's also true that the bathroom is a wetroom, which is not for everybody. (I had been considering putting one in my own home and have now decided against it - useful opportunity!) What I found is that you have to plan a little bit - shower and then go out for breakfast/dinner, and the room will dry by the time you return. Again, more inconvenient when you are two. 3) Wifi mostly reliable and strong in my room, though one night it was a bit wobbly and it was clear they were laying on more channels. So, not foolproof - but pretty good.
Cons: 1) the only way the doors close and lock is if you - and more to the point, your neighbours - let them fall closed. I find that noise very irritating. 2) The building is not soundproof, though I didn't find it worse than other places I've stayed. Street noise will always travel right up a small street; on the other hand, some of that street noise is church bells, which I love.
Didn't have the breakfast.
Don't know what's up with the lift, but even the staff recommended I not use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top - more stairs, but more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felix78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#126 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#199 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#272 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#320 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Property: Linden Hotel
Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing