We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel, which made our stay ...”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in early August in room 201, which overlooks the Amstel river. This was a very spacious room & had a large balcony to boot!
Every aspect of our stay was enjoyable. The staff, as has been said on previous reviews, were very friendly & helpful.
The location suited us very well, within easy walking distance to all the attractions, without the noise & bustle of city centre sights & sounds.
Approx 10 min walk to Rembrandtplein for instance.
The free breakfast was enjoyable, although after 5 days, we felt a little variety would have been welcome.
One very small niggle we had was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We telephoned reception regarding this, and they were happy to provide refreshments, however it would have been nice to have had this convienience in our room itself.
We would recommend paying that bit extra for the Amstel view rooms. The view from the room was amazing & we certainly made good use of our balcony!
Overall a fab hotel in a fab location, and we definately plan to stay here again !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDGEBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is a nice hotel in a quiet area, in a picturesque location right on the river, a bit removed from the busy-ness of the Museumplein and Leidesplein areas. The hotel is very convenient to the Waterlooplein and Rembrandtplein areas, including a tram to Central Station, and an easy walk to the tram (#7, #10) that is just a few stops away from the Leidesplein or the Museumplein or Vondel Park areas. There are no restaurants immediately next door, but an easy walk to cafes and restaurants. The staff were nice and helpful. I was traveling alone and had a very small single room – so small I wondered at the outset if I had made a mistake. However, with a little getting used to, the room was just fine. Nothing fancy, but functional. I glanced in other rooms when doors were open as I was walking by, and they seemed much more spacious, so I think size is only an issue for the single rooms. The breakfast spread was generous, particularly in comparison to continental breakfasts that are offered in the US. Most of my stay was reasonably quiet, although the thinness of the walls was apparent one evening when my neighbors had their television turned on loudly. Free wifi was offered. Although the hotel did not have air-conditioning, it also wasn’t needed, as it was cool in the evenings.

I think Amsterdam is a beautiful city; let me offer a couple of quick suggestions that you may not find in the guidebooks. First, everyone bikes in Amsterdam, and I highly recommend that way of getting around. If you’re used to biking, it actually doesn’t take that long to get around Amsterdam. If you are looking for a really pretty, longer ride with little chance of getting lost, you can rent a bike and just follow the Amstel River going south, away from the city (bring the camera for the shots of windmills across the river), or for the more adventurous, you can bike along the dijks northeast of the city. If you don’t want to rent a bike for 24 hours, but also don’t want to bring it back at 5:45, as required by MacBikes, there is a place called Star Bikes behind Central Station that rents bikes that can be returned at 7:00 pm. Second, don’t do like I did and try to find the free Wednesday noontime classical music rehearsals/concerts at the Concertgebouw during the summer– they apparently only have these during the regular season (not in summer months). :-) Luckily, there are plenty of other opportunities for all kinds of music in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with my friends. We stayed in a large loft apartment on the top floor of this hotel with beautiful views of the Amstel river. The apartment was very clean, with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and an open plan living area. Surprisingly breakfast was included as part of our deal...very nice selection of fruit, cold meats and cereals. The hotel is in a very quiet residential area but you can easily walk or take a tram to the entertainment areas of the city. Reception staff were very helpful and allowed us free internet access. Great value for money and would definitely stay here if I return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed 10 nights at this hotel. The location was awesome, close to Tram, within 30 minutes of walk of most Amsterdam museums. Nice, cosy and quiet room, newly renovated with taste. Good breakfast, with a lot of choice. Very helpfull and smiling personnel, would recommend or even go back to this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskar-Tramor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for a week in this hotel by the quiet Amstel waterside - great place for relaxing, close to trams with friendly staff and good choice of buffet breakfast. Very reasonable rates for such a central location - next to Hermitage museum and a short stroll to trams taking you to Centraal Station and the Museum quarter. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and this small hotel offered the perfect base to explore and a very welcoming, personal service.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank CJBABCOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed in The Bridge Hotel for three nights. It was a very pleasant experience. The staff were very willing to help and offer advice about transport etc.

Our triple room was very spacious and had a small balcony, complete with table and chairs overlooking a courtyard,. The bathroom was very modern. The room decor wasn't standard hotel style which wasn't a bad thing - almost 'boutique style'. The furniture was quirky e.g. tall metal lockers as wardrobes! Beds were very comfortable.

As there is no lift in the hotel carrying cases up the stairs was hard work! While the breakfast buffet was acceptable, I found the choice a little limited in camparison to similar European hotels. There was alot of processed / packaged items and limited selection of bread and fresh fruit.

The hotel is situated in a pleasant part of the city along the Amstel river. Our room at the back of the hotel proved very quiet. It is a short walk from the tram stops where there is direct access to the Centraal Station.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo_Laethanta_Saoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Free wi-fi throughout hotel, full breakfast, great location near stop for tram #9 or metro. Bike rental available at hotel or nearby Mac Bikes. Dedicated bike paths offer the best way to explore the City. Very comfy bed and linens/pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CutlerHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,123 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#55 of 376 in Amsterdam
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,083 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#98 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 /111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing